top twenty five life lessons high school students must learn Reviews & Opinions


Submit top twenty five life lessons high school students must learn review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Top Twenty Five Life Lessons High School Students Must Learn review []  2020-1-24 19:9

    I’ve just finished this book and I’ve taken so much from it already. I just recently graduated high school and have been very wary of what my future holds for me and this book taught me some amazing lessons and has given me faith. I recommend it to anyone, regardless of age. Thanks, Mr. Stetson. My future feels secure now.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Undecided: Navigating Life and Learning After High School review []  2020-1-16 11:33

    I found this book at our local library a few months back and decided to check it out for my teenage daughter. She is only a freshman, but I thought she might search it interesting. Turns out, I'm the one who became interested. I loved the book so much that I bought my own from Amazon. I wanted to have it as a resource and I plan to share it with our high school guidance counsellor and high school e author, Genevieve Morgan, states, "Cut through the chaos and search the path that's right for you!" Very few people I know have a clear, direct path for their future, allow alone teenagers just starting out into the world. The book starts off by offering a small self analysis for the reader. There is a quiz and checklist as well as questions to support you really think about who you are, what you like to do, where your comfort location is, and what you dream of in your heart of hearts. The first part of the book concludes with making a plan and looking at the financial aspects e rest of the book is divided into parts discussing different options from higher education to military service to entering the workforce. The book reads somewhat like a reference book or text book. I read through all of them, but you could just choose the sections you are interested in. Part Five: Obtain Busy Living was truly wonderful! It opened up my eyes and mind to things I want I would have known when I was graduating from high school.I highly recommend this book to teenagers, young adults, parents, teachers, and guidance counsellors. It's helpful, encouraging, and inspirational.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Undecided: Navigating Life and Learning After High School review []  2020-1-16 11:33

    Amazing book. I teach a high school life skills class in unique education. While not everything may apply to every student, I think we'll obtain some amazing tidbits from this book!

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on top twenty five life lessons high school students must learn or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch top twenty five life lessons high school students must learn video reviews and related movies:

    See Top Twenty Five Life Lessons High School Students Must Learn on youtube.

     related image

    See 10 Life Lessons School Taught You And You Never Noticed on youtube.

     related image

    See Students get real life lessons on youtube.

     related image

    See T.L took lessons about the real life. on youtube.

     related image

    See 25 Business Lessons from Mobsters & The Mafia on youtube.

     related image

    See student teaching tips high school on youtube.

     related image

    See 9 Psychology Lessons You're NOT Taught in School on youtube.

     related image

    See Why teach? "Enjoy teaching all subjects at primary school" on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Undecided: Navigating Life and Learning After High School review []  2020-1-16 11:33

    Love the information. This book is awesome!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Undecided: Navigating Life and Learning After High School review []  2020-1-16 11:33

    I bought this book for my daughter who is a senior in high school. Making decisions about the future has been stressful for her, and smiles have been hard to come by. A week after I gave it to her, I asked her about it. She smiled and said she liked it especially doing the activities. Allow me say that again. She read a book I gave her. No method you say. Yes - way. She liked a book I gave her enough to smile about it. No method you say. Yes - way. She was engaged enough with a book I gave her that she was doing activities in it. Way!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Undecided: Navigating Life and Learning After High School review []  2020-1-16 11:33

    Bought for highschooler, excellent addition to our curriculum.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Undecided: Navigating Life and Learning After High School review []  2020-1-16 11:33

    Amazing bonus for a fresh grad

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Undecided: Navigating Life and Learning After High School review []  2020-1-16 11:33

    Hmm. Really not at all informative. Hoped for more. Better than I've ever written so mean of me to say 1 star, but I didn't obtain diddly from it for my wayward son... sorry!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Undecided: Navigating Life and Learning After High School review []  2020-1-16 11:33

    If I could hand students in high school one book to support them figure out what they wish to do when they graduate, it would be Genevieve Morgan’s Undecided: Navigating Life and Learning After High a volunteer in the College and Career Center at my daughters’ high school, I spent seven years talking to juniors about what they planned to do. Some of them knew exactly where their paths would take them, others were not so sure. All of them could have benefited from reading Undecided.Why do I think it’s such a amazing guide? For one thing, Morgan’s down-to-earth writing style makes you feel as though you are talking to a trusted friend. For another, the book is divided into sections that will walk students through the process of figuring out what they like and what they are amazing at and then show them with quite a few options that go beyond the expected university or community college enrollment.I also love the sidebars Morgan contains in the book. She contains things like checklists and quizzes to support students figure out their personality types, budget worksheets, and more. Profiles of popular people and the courses their lives took are also featured.Even with my training and experience in the high school, I didn’t know a lot of the info that Morgan covers as she discusses four-year universities, two-year colleges, joining the military, volunteering, signing up for a service program, going to work and more.I highly recommend Undecided for high school students as well as their e publisher gave me a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Undecided: Navigating Life and Learning After High School review []  2020-1-16 11:33

    Undecided is another amazing resources for post-HS students. In comparison to 77 Things, which gives suggestions on how to round out your college life, Undecided is a bit broader in scope. As the title implies, it's about exploring the various choices available to you after graduating from high school.I like how this book is divided neatly into differently sections that flow into one another, giving readers a sampling of various paths to take. The first section is about exploring what you love to do. It provides some quizzes and various points to consider when thinking about what you wish to do with your life. The next couple sections are about various potential paths to follow after graduating from HS, such as higher education (4-year vs. 2-year colleges, trade schools, and studying abroad) or going into some kind of service (like military, civil, and foreign service). There's also info about internships, going to work, and getting a life after e author has clearly done her research on the different subjects and gives detailed info under different subheadings that detail things you need to know when taking on a certain occupation. For example, she doesn't just compare four-year vs two-year colleges. She explores them in further detail, going so far as to explain what makes an Ivy school and Ivy school and what differentiates various kinds of Ivies. There is also info on other schools and what they have to offer students. I seriously want that I had this book before I decided which college to attend because I really could have used this info during the college app process.While I spent a litle more time talking about a portion of the college section, that was mostly to give you a feel for what this book is about and the detail that it goes into. There is a wealth of info in the other sections as well. This is a unbelievable book for HS students starting to think about what they wish to do after graduating and who aren't sure about what they wish out of life. I can also see this being useful for college students also thinking about the next step after school. Parents too can benefit from this book in helping their kids decide what they wish to do after graduation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Undecided: Navigating Life and Learning After High School review []  2020-1-16 11:33

    What's next after high school graduation? College? The Military? Work? There are options besides more schooling and the bills that accompany that pathway. For young people who need some direction this book offers a amazing starting point. Buy the book and just give it to the person without any instructions like "Read this!" Allow the young person explore what the author has to say without making it an assignment. If it helps (and it probably will) all well and good. If it doesn't...at least you tried!Book supplied by publisher.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Not Another Money Statistic: Lessons We Wish We Learned in High School review []  2020-1-11 19:11

    This is perfect info that needs to be placed in the hands of middle school, high school and college students, as well as their parents. I am already saving $12/month on my son's Bank of American checking account. Buy it, read it, bonus it!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Not Another Money Statistic: Lessons We Wish We Learned in High School review []  2020-1-11 19:11

    This book is a MUST READ for any teenager, parent of a teenager, or honestly any beginning budgeter. Thanks to Alli + Shelly we now have a amazing fresh resource for learning about money!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Not Another Money Statistic: Lessons We Wish We Learned in High School review []  2020-1-11 19:11

    This is a unbelievable primer on finances for high school students! I was blessedly gifted a copy of the book by one of the authors (thank you, Alli!) and enjoyed every bit of it! It's a quick read and can be read in one sitting. This is an necessary point since the target audience is adolescents!Some of the highlights for me:1. I love how simplistic this book is. Let's face it, we are talking about teaching finances to teenagers. While a handful may be very interested in the subject, I suspect most aren't. If you drone on about useless statistics and facts that don't keep their interest, you will lose them forever. This book keeps things very easy and concise. It breaks down subjects into easily digestible parts.2. Each chapter has multiple opportunities for putting info to use. These are located under the headings titled, "Take Action". It's a amazing method for the reader to practice really easy, easy things to start taking responsibility for their finances. Such activities contain researching bank interest rates, making a list of things to save for, and even calculating interest rates.3. The instructions are easy and when necessary, tables and pictures are included to support the reader understand the concepts (such as learning the various parts of a check).4. I liked how balanced this book was. A lot of schools of thought teach polarizing ideas... All credit cards are evil!... Student loans are unnecessary!... and other such thoughts. Here, the authors provide a balanced approach to these topics, offering factual info and ideas, while allowing the reader to decide what is best for him or her.5. I really enjoyed the section on the anatomy of a credit score. I feel as though most people don't really understand what goes into calculating the credit score, and therefore have no idea how their financial activities can affect the score and in turn, their ability to create certain future purchases. The breakdown here was spot on.I highly recommend this book if you've got teenagers who are beginning to wend their method with finances. It's concise and and just detailed enough to support a reader be successful, without droning on and becoming oversaturated and boring.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Not Another Money Statistic: Lessons We Wish We Learned in High School review []  2020-1-11 19:11

    Perfect read with simple to understand and valuable info for high schoolers and anyone looking for the important basics when it comes to money! All juniors and seniors in high school should be needed to read this one. I’m in my mid 30s and even learned a few things! Can’t wait to see what the authors come out with next.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Not Another Money Statistic: Lessons We Wish We Learned in High School review []  2020-1-11 19:11

    I was sent this book to review and it is absolutely wonderful. I have 4 kids, two are teenagers. I can’t wait to have them read this book. It will support them to better understand finances at their level.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Not Another Money Statistic: Lessons We Wish We Learned in High School review []  2020-1-11 19:11

    This book is the excellent fast resource for high school students wanting to begin thinking ahead about their finances. It’s a amazing method for them to obtain off on the right foot and prepare for college and beyond. It’s the basics but the basics are what a lot of people skip over and this book highlights such necessary key points. Definitely holding onto this for teaching future kids!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Different Schools for a Different World: (School Improvement for 21st Century Skills, Global Citizenship, and Deeper Learning) (Solutions for Creating the Learning Spaces Students Deserve) review []  2019-12-23 19:35

    Actually bought two copies of this perfect book. One for my Kindle and a hard copy to share. This book is not a long read. It’s about 60 pages. Don’t allow that fool you. A favorite college professor, Dr. Ruth Slonim, once said, “Good writing is not when there’s nothing more to add, rather when there’s nothing more to be taken away.” This book is lean and dead on point. A literal wake up call. The authors share '6 arguments for making schools different.' Each argument is absolutely spot on. I've been a public school educator for 34 years, including 16 in the classroom. Any school or district contemplating change will do itself a favor by reading this book. It's a map for change. The change and a hard look at reality will require leadership, courage, and energy. This perfect book provides a starting put for conversation and action.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Different Schools for a Different World: (School Improvement for 21st Century Skills, Global Citizenship, and Deeper Learning) (Solutions for Creating the Learning Spaces Students Deserve) review []  2019-12-23 19:35

    Reading this book not only revealed to me essential insights into the complex globe of education but also helped me focus my own perspectives on each topic. Each chapter focuses on a major zone we should be understanding and acting on as educators (information literacy, economics, boredom, and innovation to name a few), and the book wraps up with a number of strong examples of deeper learning event in schools around the world. This relatively short book (a fast read for administrators, educators, and leaders) provides a disproportionately huge amount of knowledge and action steps to move classrooms toward environments that are rich in cognitive complexity. I am a better person / educator / leader for having read it and highly recommend it to those who think differently about K12 education.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Different Schools for a Different World: (School Improvement for 21st Century Skills, Global Citizenship, and Deeper Learning) (Solutions for Creating the Learning Spaces Students Deserve) review []  2019-12-23 19:35

    Scott & Dean produce a brief yet strong work on the persistent speed bumps in education and provides means to overcome them. Backed by impeccable research in an simple to access volume, Various Schools highlights how quality education that fosters innovation and creativity through deep and meaningful learning can facilitate educators in bridging the digital divide and helping teachers be successful in their classroom. This is a must read by all!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Different Schools for a Different World: (School Improvement for 21st Century Skills, Global Citizenship, and Deeper Learning) (Solutions for Creating the Learning Spaces Students Deserve) review []  2019-12-23 19:35

    Dean and Scott are two people whose work I have admired for a long time. They are not only leaders in changing the method we think about school, they are just amazing humans. This should be standard reading for all fresh and veteran administrators at both the school and district level. If you're a classroom teacher that is looking to support create school a small less like school and bring deeper levels of learning to your classroom you'll have fun this book too. This book will jumpstart necessary conversations that need to happen now.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Different Schools for a Different World: (School Improvement for 21st Century Skills, Global Citizenship, and Deeper Learning) (Solutions for Creating the Learning Spaces Students Deserve) review []  2019-12-23 19:35

    I was excited to obtain this book because Dean and Scott are both experts in their fields and have necessary things to say about how we need to change education to better prepare the students for tomorrow. The book is very well researched and their easy suggestions to create impactful change are exactly what a teacher needs to improve their practice for the benefit of their students. If you are looking for a solid read for yourself, your department, or your entire school, this is the excellent book to begin the right conversations.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Different Schools for a Different World: (School Improvement for 21st Century Skills, Global Citizenship, and Deeper Learning) (Solutions for Creating the Learning Spaces Students Deserve) review []  2019-12-23 19:35

    I hear it from teachers all over the United States in schools where I work ... They wish to know the research behind best teaching practices, and they wish to see examples of how it works in true schools. That's what Scott and Dean have made in this book. It's an accessible text where they've boiled down the most necessary points. Teachers and school leaders can digest this book and create research-driven changes immediately.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Different Schools for a Different World: (School Improvement for 21st Century Skills, Global Citizenship, and Deeper Learning) (Solutions for Creating the Learning Spaces Students Deserve) review []  2019-12-23 19:35

    McLeod and Shareski have knocked it out of the park with this recent title! If you’re looking for solid rationale as to why schools should more aggressively pursue deeper learning, then this book is for 's practical with powerful arguments and is a length that every school administrator can manage. In addition, the list of deeper learning schools in its final pages appears helpful; I look forward to analyzing the highlighted schools in greater depth.Outstanding work!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Different Schools for a Different World: (School Improvement for 21st Century Skills, Global Citizenship, and Deeper Learning) (Solutions for Creating the Learning Spaces Students Deserve) review []  2019-12-23 19:35

    In reading Various Schools for a Various World, I found myself constantly saying "Of course"! McLeod and Shareski are completely accurate in their assessment that schools have amazing opportunities to create proactive changes in increasing student engagement. Not only is this book direct and to the point, it also provides readers with Practical Steps and Tactics to support obtain immediate results. A must read for people who truly wish to be 21st century educators!- Sam Van Hefty

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Different Schools for a Different World: (School Improvement for 21st Century Skills, Global Citizenship, and Deeper Learning) (Solutions for Creating the Learning Spaces Students Deserve) review []  2019-12-23 19:35

    I first heard about this book at ISTE and ordered it on the spot. The book is filled with current problems and how you can move forward. It’s not laced with edu-babble; A fast read that will leave you ready to support your students, buildings, or district.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Different Schools for a Different World: (School Improvement for 21st Century Skills, Global Citizenship, and Deeper Learning) (Solutions for Creating the Learning Spaces Students Deserve) review []  2019-12-23 19:35

    This book is very succinct and to the point of the reason for changes in our PK-16 systems. At the end of each chapter, the authors provide a checklist of things you can do immediately to obtain the conversation started or to take action. A lot of times, the change in schools is lost in committee, but the book provides a lot of things to not only obtain the conversation started but then to do something about it. A amazing read for anyone who is looking to initiate change in education.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Webb's Words of Wisdom: 10 Things Every High School Student Must Know review []  2020-1-11 18:30

    I thought this book is amazing for High School students. These hints can support them to become better students and learn what is takesto accomplish their goals. Also, this book will support students to prepare for college. Amazing job Rowland.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Webb's Words of Wisdom: 10 Things Every High School Student Must Know review []  2020-1-11 18:30

    Perfect book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Webb's Words of Wisdom: 10 Things Every High School Student Must Know review []  2020-1-11 18:30

    Nice read. Will have my two daughters read this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The K&W Guide to Colleges for Students with Learning Differences, 14th Edition: 338 Schools with Programs or Services for Students with ADHD, ASD, or Learning Differences (College Admissions Guides) review []  2020-2-1 22:56

    I am a dyslexia therapist who was wanting to use this book to obtain very detailed info about colleges that are amazing matches for : the authors classified each college into one of three categories… Those that have structured programs, those that have coordinated services, and those that just offered services needed by law. But I suppose every college has to at least fall into that third category, or face : if someone is looking for a college that has a powerful program that specifically caters to learning differences, and was perhaps designed only for students with learning differences, this book lists them all in one n: most of the info presented is easy to search online on one's n: copyright of the book is February 2019, but it lists SAT scores from the college for the previous SAT that was used before 2016. That won't support current students applying to college now.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The K&W Guide to Colleges for Students with Learning Differences, 14th Edition: 338 Schools with Programs or Services for Students with ADHD, ASD, or Learning Differences (College Admissions Guides) review []  2020-2-1 22:56

    I was glad to see this book listed structured programs. I was quite disappointed the list for structured programs did not have the page numbers for those programs. In addition, the book lists the colleges by state, but has no tutorial to say what page the next state starts on, making it hard to find for options in a particular state. Finally, there are no web links provided to obtain more info on the specific programs. I'm not sure who the book was designed for. It doesn't seem very accessible for students with learning disabilities and is not a useful resource for me as a professional due to the vague descriptions of each program given and the not good organization.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The K&W Guide to Colleges for Students with Learning Differences, 14th Edition: 338 Schools with Programs or Services for Students with ADHD, ASD, or Learning Differences (College Admissions Guides) review []  2020-2-1 22:56

    Want I had looked into this book before buying. There are examples online and I would recommend looking to see if this info is helpful for you. The information for ADHD and Asburgers may be more helpful, and possibly if looking for a school for a student with severe LD but the types of services offered and general information is what you could search with a google search. Would not recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The K&W Guide to Colleges for Students with Learning Differences, 14th Edition: 338 Schools with Programs or Services for Students with ADHD, ASD, or Learning Differences (College Admissions Guides) review []  2020-2-1 22:56

    This book has a amazing deal of info on colleges my children wish to attend, including contact information. It helped us to narrow down the colleges we were looking for. The only think it can't tell you is how confusing and crowded campuses are, but a visit once you've narrowed your list is your next step.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The K&W Guide to Colleges for Students with Learning Differences, 14th Edition: 338 Schools with Programs or Services for Students with ADHD, ASD, or Learning Differences (College Admissions Guides) review []  2020-2-1 22:56

    This is user friendly. We found that Southern IL University, in our own back door, has the Achieve Program, one of the best programs for learning differences in the United States.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The K&W Guide to Colleges for Students with Learning Differences, 14th Edition: 338 Schools with Programs or Services for Students with ADHD, ASD, or Learning Differences (College Admissions Guides) review []  2020-2-1 22:56

    Amazing look into colleges

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    *Top Secret* Guide to Getting Admitted to College: Everything High School Students & Their Parents Need to Know review []  2020-1-22 21:28

    okay

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    *Top Secret* Guide to Getting Admitted to College: Everything High School Students & Their Parents Need to Know review []  2020-1-22 21:28

    Applying to college is such a stressful time for both the student and the parent. It can be overwhelming and full of fears of making the wrong choices and where to start with it all. This book is such a amazing tool. It makes the process digestible and seem do-able. Ms. Schildhorn has this method of organizing and walking you through to support you see the light at the end of the tunnel. Would recommend this book to any parent (or student) of a high schooler . In a sea of college app books, it's at the top of the pile for sure!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    *Top Secret* Guide to Getting Admitted to College: Everything High School Students & Their Parents Need to Know review []  2020-1-22 21:28

    This book is simple to follow with a step by step tutorial on what is most necessary in the app process. Each section contains a checklist to support organize necessary points and avoid missing critical details. Highly recommend that parents purchase this book early in the high school years to better understand what is necessary when building the college resume/application.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    *Top Secret* Guide to Getting Admitted to College: Everything High School Students & Their Parents Need to Know review []  2020-1-22 21:28

    I want I had this book when I was applying for colleges over a decade ago. Instead, I'll settle on recommending it to my high school age siblings! The outline format gives you a clear, step by step approach to putting yourself in the best position possible. The notes on timing for the various activities are also really helpful. When there is so much you can't control about the college app process, it's amazing to know some of the things you may be able to control!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    *Top Secret* Guide to Getting Admitted to College: Everything High School Students & Their Parents Need to Know review []  2020-1-22 21:28

    With a Junior and a Senior in high school I was desperately looking for some tip on how to support my children obtain into the schools of their dreams and how to hopefully obtain them some cash too! This book was exactly what I was looking for! Easy and simple to digest, this "manual" showed me how to support them to place their best foot forward! Love that the language was written for the "layman", and I really liked the insider tips/secrets! Buy this book!!!!! You will not regret it!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    *Top Secret* Guide to Getting Admitted to College: Everything High School Students & Their Parents Need to Know review []  2020-1-22 21:28

    Amazing tutorial - especially if it's your first kid going to college!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    *Top Secret* Guide to Getting Admitted to College: Everything High School Students & Their Parents Need to Know review []  2020-1-22 21:28

    This book really helped me. It's written like an outline, so it is very simple to follow. The tutorial tells you the 12 things that matter the most in the admissions process and then gives you each step that you need to follow to support you obtain admitted. I honestly had no idea where to even begin but this book listed exactly what I required to do and when I required to do it. Every high school student needs this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chicken Soup for the Soul: Teens Talk High School: 101 Stories of Life, Love, and Learning for Older Teens review []  2020-1-20 19:18

    Got this for my small sister as a Christmas show as she was entering high school she really enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chicken Soup for the Soul: Teens Talk High School: 101 Stories of Life, Love, and Learning for Older Teens review []  2020-1-20 19:18

    Bought for our teenage foster daughter. Loved it! It helped her know she wasn't alone in high school trials and tribulations. Unbelievable book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chicken Soup for the Soul: Teens Talk High School: 101 Stories of Life, Love, and Learning for Older Teens review []  2020-1-20 19:18

    I bought this for my 14 year old daughter who is in 10th grade. The book is an simple read with stories that are totally relevant to her globe and how other teens are thinking and feeling. The short stories create it simple to pick up and read a fast story. She is satisfied with the book and would recommend it to other teens.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chicken Soup for the Soul: Teens Talk High School: 101 Stories of Life, Love, and Learning for Older Teens review []  2020-1-20 19:18

    As a junior in high school, reading some of these stories it just seemed like typical, "I'd see this in a movie" type stuff. But I think a freshmen would secretly benefit from this. So they can form some sort of self-respect and photo for the street ahead of them. I gave it to a mate that just entered HS this year. She likes it so. Yup.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chicken Soup for the Soul: Teens Talk High School: 101 Stories of Life, Love, and Learning for Older Teens review []  2020-1-20 19:18

    cool

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chicken Soup for the Soul: Teens Talk High School: 101 Stories of Life, Love, and Learning for Older Teens review []  2020-1-20 19:18

    Grandson loved the short stories and tips.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chicken Soup for the Soul: Teens Talk High School: 101 Stories of Life, Love, and Learning for Older Teens review []  2020-1-20 19:18

    Excellent bonus for that teen headed into high school. I bought it for my granddaughter. She loves to read, very active in youth group and I thought this might be a amazing resource for her for the life happenings that she will soon be facing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chicken Soup for the Soul: Teens Talk High School: 101 Stories of Life, Love, and Learning for Older Teens review []  2020-1-20 19:18

    Bonus for 15 year old. She started reading immediately. Amazing series. Gives lots of scenarios to talk over for communication with teens.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chicken Soup for the Soul: Teens Talk High School: 101 Stories of Life, Love, and Learning for Older Teens review []  2020-1-20 19:18

    My daughter like it b

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chicken Soup for the Soul: Teens Talk High School: 101 Stories of Life, Love, and Learning for Older Teens review []  2020-1-20 19:18

    The Chicken Soup stories, no matter their subject, are always inspiring, touching. Thisand another (Tough Stuff) were purchased as gifts, with the hope they support guidea teen-age mate in her teen years and beyond.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    57 Ways to Screw Up in Grad School: Perverse Professional Lessons for Graduate Students (Chicago Guides to Academic Life) review []  2020-2-5 19:17

    The best tip I got about graduate school was that everyone’s journey is unique. This book didn’t add anything fresh to what I learned from talking to employers, professors, post-docs, and graduate students. Though it is also fair to state that I quit my graduate program after advancing to Ph.D. candidacy, so feel free to take or leave my advice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    57 Ways to Screw Up in Grad School: Perverse Professional Lessons for Graduate Students (Chicago Guides to Academic Life) review []  2020-2-5 19:17

    57 Ways is a quick, easy, and humorous read about successfully navigating graduate school. Much of the tip in the book may seem obvious, but it will be a revelation to anyone in the fog of beginning graduate studies. In fact, a lot of students fail to realize or understand the rules governing graduate school, even after completing 2 or 3 years in the experience! This book definitely has the potential to save students multiple years of frustration. I strongly suggest it to graduating seniors and frequently give it as a graduation bonus to students going on to graduate school. I also recommend it to anyone in the process of working on an advanced degree, especially if the experience seems various from what you expected. Read the book before, during, and after graduate school, and each time you will uncover fresh insights about your own experience or the various struggles of students around you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    57 Ways to Screw Up in Grad School: Perverse Professional Lessons for Graduate Students (Chicago Guides to Academic Life) review []  2020-2-5 19:17

    There are a lot of useful hints and sections within this book, however this book has more content relevant to those pursuing Doctoral degrees. This does not mean that the info contained in the book isn't useful - it certainly is. I am satisfied to have read this book but believe the Grad School Essentials by Zachary Shore to be more suited to Master's Candidates.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    57 Ways to Screw Up in Grad School: Perverse Professional Lessons for Graduate Students (Chicago Guides to Academic Life) review []  2020-2-5 19:17

    This is an simple read that will better prepare any future academic for the globe that they are about to enter. The life tip provided by the authors is practical and it forces you to actually think about where you see your academic career going. The book is separated into bit sized pieces that provides the reader with a robust understanding of what it is like being in an academic setting day in and day out.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    57 Ways to Screw Up in Grad School: Perverse Professional Lessons for Graduate Students (Chicago Guides to Academic Life) review []  2020-2-5 19:17

    My graduate students both loved and hated this book. If you're in grad school, or about to go to grad school, read this book. It will save you a lot of trouble.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    57 Ways to Screw Up in Grad School: Perverse Professional Lessons for Graduate Students (Chicago Guides to Academic Life) review []  2020-2-5 19:17

    Gave as a bonus to a fresh graduate student and future grad student. Both seemed to like it and thought it was helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    57 Ways to Screw Up in Grad School: Perverse Professional Lessons for Graduate Students (Chicago Guides to Academic Life) review []  2020-2-5 19:17

    As a scientist I thought there were some useful tidbits in here, but (not unexpectedly) the authors are in the social sciences, and so certain ways are more relevant to their programs. A lot of the interpersonal interactions, and extracurricular activities are relevant to all fields though, and even more applicable to any job in general. It's an simple read, I got through it in a week just reading to/from work on public transport. And I have since given it to a labmate who is just beginning on his grad school journey, such that it can be used to its fullest.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    57 Ways to Screw Up in Grad School: Perverse Professional Lessons for Graduate Students (Chicago Guides to Academic Life) review []  2020-2-5 19:17

    I highly recommend this to current and future PhD students in a wide range of disciplines.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    57 Ways to Screw Up in Grad School: Perverse Professional Lessons for Graduate Students (Chicago Guides to Academic Life) review []  2020-2-5 19:17

    I've been a professor (adjunct, assistant, now full) for ~15 years and I'm frequently asked for tip by undergraduates and early-career graduates students on grad school. This book includes nearly all my advice, and then some, humorously presented. I have no connection to it but want I did. If you're considering (or in) grad school, read it. I've recommended it to all undergraduates in my department who are thinking about grad school.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    57 Ways to Screw Up in Grad School: Perverse Professional Lessons for Graduate Students (Chicago Guides to Academic Life) review []  2020-2-5 19:17

    This is a fast and informative read. It highlights a lot of the possible mistakes you can create in grad school that might not be obvious to the recently graduated undergrad or masters student. This book is geared towards people working towards an eventual PHD. It does not so much test to discourage people from this track as it is attempts to create them aware of the practicalities of such a journey. That said, the book paints a rather negative picture of the graduate school process.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Little Box of Life's Big Lessons: Daniel Learns to Share; Friends Help Each Other; Thank You Day; Daniel Plays at School (Daniel Tiger's Neighborhood) review []  2020-1-29 17:35

    Very cute, my daughter loves Daniel

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Little Box of Life's Big Lessons: Daniel Learns to Share; Friends Help Each Other; Thank You Day; Daniel Plays at School (Daniel Tiger's Neighborhood) review []  2020-1-29 17:35

    Love love love

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    High School Teacher Simulator: Virtual School Life review [App]  2019-12-22 21:30

    Teachers are always respectable. I love my teachers very much. Android game is very attractive I loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    High School Teacher Simulator: Virtual School Life review [App]  2019-12-22 21:30

    I really enjoyed that campane.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    High School Teacher Simulator: Virtual School Life review [App]  2019-12-22 21:30

    Best android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It's only one semester: 6 Month College/High School Student Planner. Prioritize classes and activities. Undated calendars, blank lists, graphs, ... exams, contacts. (Life Planner) (Volume 1) review []  2020-1-23 2:36

    This is a amazing planner. The only thing I would change is the binding. The first thing I did was take it down to my local printer and have them chop off the spine and spiral bind it for me. I really like that there is zone for me to customize the various pages to suit my needs. It really helped planning my semester by helping me to hold track of the "big" picture (seeing and overview of what's due and when) and then track what I required to do each week. There was also zone for me to create notes while I was reading my weekly assignments. Since my classes are online and require weekly forum posts, this really helped. There was also zone for me to create note of things I came across in my readings to look up later or books/articles that I added to my recommended reading list. This planner really helped my semester go a bit smoother and I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It's only one semester: 6 Month College/High School Student Planner. Prioritize classes and activities. Undated calendars, blank lists, graphs, ... exams, contacts. (Life Planner) (Volume 1) review []  2020-1-23 2:36

    unbelievable planner! [email protected]#$%! didn't have that title, though. Would be better to simply read, "It's only____________," so that we can fill in the blank as we choose. no biggie. just an annoyance since I'm not using it for a semester class. I really have fun the varying schedules inside. it isn't one set design by week or month. I'm very happy with this planner!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It's only one semester: 6 Month College/High School Student Planner. Prioritize classes and activities. Undated calendars, blank lists, graphs, ... exams, contacts. (Life Planner) (Volume 1) review []  2020-1-23 2:36

    The actual contents of this planner are great, and are going to be incredibly useful once the semester starts. However, it's bound like a slim paperback book, and there's not really any method to obtain it flat to write in it. It is a strange and frustrating choice of binding for a planner with double-sided pages. I'm seriously considering taking it to a print store and asking if there's any method they can take it apart and re-bind it with a spiral. It would be PERFECT if it had a spiral binding or could otherwise lie flat.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It's only one semester: 6 Month College/High School Student Planner. Prioritize classes and activities. Undated calendars, blank lists, graphs, ... exams, contacts. (Life Planner) (Volume 1) review []  2020-1-23 2:36

    Bigger than I expected and a very useful planner for university!! I also had problems about the book not lying flat so I got it spiral-bound at Office Depot! It’s absolutely excellent now. I can’t wait for my classes to start so I can use it heavily.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It's only one semester: 6 Month College/High School Student Planner. Prioritize classes and activities. Undated calendars, blank lists, graphs, ... exams, contacts. (Life Planner) (Volume 1) review []  2020-1-23 2:36

    As an older adult, itd lost a lidtle appeal to me, but I want I had this as a HS or young college student. Helps to learn to be organized.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It's only one semester: 6 Month College/High School Student Planner. Prioritize classes and activities. Undated calendars, blank lists, graphs, ... exams, contacts. (Life Planner) (Volume 1) review []  2020-1-23 2:36

    Simple to use, helps with keeping organized.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It's only one semester: 6 Month College/High School Student Planner. Prioritize classes and activities. Undated calendars, blank lists, graphs, ... exams, contacts. (Life Planner) (Volume 1) review []  2020-1-23 2:36

    My college recently converted to the semester system and I was used to the quarter system so this definitely helped me hold organized!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It's only one semester: 6 Month College/High School Student Planner. Prioritize classes and activities. Undated calendars, blank lists, graphs, ... exams, contacts. (Life Planner) (Volume 1) review []  2020-1-23 2:36

    Sometimes a small structure is necessary.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It's only one semester: 6 Month College/High School Student Planner. Prioritize classes and activities. Undated calendars, blank lists, graphs, ... exams, contacts. (Life Planner) (Volume 1) review []  2020-1-23 2:36

    Not what I expected, it was a bonus but I'm too embarrassed to give it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It's only one semester: 6 Month College/High School Student Planner. Prioritize classes and activities. Undated calendars, blank lists, graphs, ... exams, contacts. (Life Planner) (Volume 1) review []  2020-1-23 2:36

    finally someone gets it.!! Classes change every semester and every other planner I've used I end up wasting half of it..this one is nice and easy and lays everything out for you...very sleek and well written

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    School of Dreams: Making the Grade at a Top American High School review []  2020-1-16 19:1

    As a typical concerning parent, how will the children succeed in classroom and ultimately in the true globe are always being debated. There's no right or wrong answer, nor one path that fits all kids. This book, regardless of the attacks by the alums of Whitney High for its info and angles, is a amazing read for parents who wish to know (or obtain confirmation) that how much pressure it can obtain for a competitive high school student preparing for only question after reading the book: is it worth trading this crazy life style for lost childhood? That depends on the child him/herself. Intelligent children who hit the books will do really well in above average high schools regardless. There are plenty of examples of college grads from elite schools can't obtain a job, and high school drop outs create millions. It's not worth the grinding to shave a year off college (and lose that additional college life experience), and definitely wrong for parents pushing children for the sake of his and her ego.But if my children like that environment and can past the test, I have no issue sending them to the school.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    School of Dreams: Making the Grade at a Top American High School review []  2020-1-16 19:1

    I went to WHS roughly 15 years ago. While there are clearly a lot of changes to the campus since I was there, a lot of other things remain the same today: the faculty, students, and parents invest a lot into the students' successes; and the high expectation brings out a lot of amazing and some poor me weaves together stories that follow selected Whitney faculty and students. The book focuses on the more interesting aspect of the Whitney experience by condensing away the quiet mundance everyday routines. While this has the result of making the stories more dramatic than in true life, the description of the highs, lows, and the quirky moments captures the essence that underly the lives of the people that create up this 1100-student times, Hume ties the Whitney story with more general commentary on the state of the education system. Still, the book should be read more as documentary stories than as a study into what consitutes a amazing academic system.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    School of Dreams: Making the Grade at a Top American High School review []  2020-1-16 19:1

    Edward Humes did an wonderful job reporting on the everyday lives of students at Whitney High. He captured the challenges met by the students whose parents expect only the very best of their kids in this high achieving school.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    School of Dreams: Making the Grade at a Top American High School review []  2020-1-16 19:1

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    School of Dreams: Making the Grade at a Top American High School review []  2020-1-16 19:1

    Hume, a Pulitzer Prize winning journalist, wrote this book during the 2001-02 school year. He sat in on classes, talked with students, their teachers and the administrators. He provides a fairly comprehensive and unbiased view from all sides within the Part II, "Cow Towns and College Boards," Hume spends about 50 pages on the history of American education, Cerritos (the zone near LA where the book is set), the history of the high school and the resistance to its creation. It's an ideal section for current and future administrators to focus on.He discusses reforms that do (requiring parental involvement) and don't work (hiring thousands of fresh teachers). He also spends a couple of chapters on standardized testing and its evils (which is a small ironic, as the school's reputation was made and cemented by its students' try taking proficiencies). He describes the fraud of Bush's "Texas Miracle": Texas lowered the passing scores, doubled the amount of unique ed cases (they don't have to take the test), more than doubled their drop-out rate (those children would have presumably failed), and created the try e book also illustrates other school problems, unbelievable teachers, amazing ways to learn and hard-working students. It describes the successes and failures in education with awesome clarity.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    School of Dreams: Making the Grade at a Top American High School review []  2020-1-16 19:1

    Not far into David Hume's acclaimed book about the life inside one of America's most pressure-packed public schools, the author quotes a teacher who sums up high school life succinctly. Schools are like organisms, the teacher said, because you never can identify exactly how and what makes them go. For those who claim to carry the fast fixes to an education system said to have been broken off and on for the latest 50 years, take that advice.And just when you think you have all the answers, read Hume's book about Whitney High ing a formula of high expectations, partental involvement and a selective admissions process, Whitney has built one of the jewels of the California educational system with about 95 percent of the students college bound and SAT scores to drool over.But before principals nationwide start to copy the forumla, Hume illustrates the neagative variables to such success. This school has been built on the backs of automatons who start their quest for the HYP (Harvard, Yale, Princeton) track as early as third grade. Hume characterizes life at Whitney as a six-year experiment in nerves. Like the physics projects illustrated in the book, some students are one Alka-Seltzer short of an emotional explosion. AP classes and numerous extra-curriculars are means to the HYP end, not necessarily instrinsic desires to gain knowledge and life experience.While Hume's portrayal represents a microcosm of Whitney, it reveals the predicament high-stakes plays in the educational accountability movement. Success is not in the subjective and private nature of knowledge, but the impersonal (hence the faceless student on the cover of Hume's book and pictureless inside) ranking on standardized tests.While Whitney may be at the top, others school continually test to knock it off, using the same twisted reason a Whitney junior spends $1,000 to increase his SAT score to 1560 then decides to retake it again -- "You can never have too high a score."I believe in high expectations and no excuses for schools and students, but I am wary of a federal system trying to devise a formula to improve the education of tens of millions of kids controlled by tens of millions of variables. When you test to control the beast, the beast ultimately ends of controlling you. Whitney students are excellent ever, if Hume's book shows anything, it is that not just parental involvement is key to educational success, but local (not state or federal) control is vital to the success of any school. For whatever negative side effects, Whitney's formula works well for them. It is up to other schools to make their own.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    School of Dreams: Making the Grade at a Top American High School review []  2020-1-16 19:1

    several years ago, as a flourishing sportswriter (who still can't spell) i picked up a used copy of Friday Night Lights, the classic book that follows a football squad in texas where the gridiron, not the grades counts.i bought school of dreams because it seemed similar, and although i got what i paid for, the results were not mes took the friday night lights formula and destroyed it. too a lot of students, to a lot of "certain students" or "certain faculty members" quotes were used; making some of the text read like an inside joke. the book also had the additional added gift of pages upon pages of academic theory and data that bored me to tears as i stayed at home with two ear infections and a nasty sore throat. I also agreed with one other reviewer who thought humes took method to a lot of potshots at the bush family (and i would chop off my thumbs before voting for any of those lunatics).there were two refreshing parts; the example essays (any one of these students could be phenomenal journalists) and the accounts of Mr. Z's physic's experiments.overall, i would have enjoyed fewer students with more in-depth stories. but, i search myself asking, how do i obtain my children into a school like this?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    School of Dreams: Making the Grade at a Top American High School review []  2020-1-16 19:1

    As a fan of Jonathon Kozol's early books about the American education system, Death at an Early Age, and the landmark Savage Inequalities, I looked forward to reading this book which showed the flip side of public schools--a high achieving school whose students were "making it." Anecdotally, the book holds up, with interesting tales of young artists whose parents thwart their talents, a child tangled in crystal meth, etc. But like another reviewer has stated, an underlying notice seems to be r example, Humes states at one point that the school is very diverse, but with roughly 80% of the student body being Asian, and no black students being mentioned in the stories, it's really hard to obtain a sense of what that so-called diversity means. And then there's the problem of the introduction of technology into Whitney as a bonus from Neil Bush's corporate campaign. Humes could have been explicit in asking why a student body with the highest try scores in the nation is more deserving of computers in the classroom than those children who could use a leg up, but he doesn't. What would have created this book more strong is to have seen the other side--those children who didn't obtain to go to Whitney, and how their lives were or were not impacted by that ill, it's an interesting look at how teachers have adapted to changing times, and with some worthy lesson plans, makes for a decent read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    School of Dreams: Making the Grade at a Top American High School review []  2020-1-16 19:1

    Humes info the turnaround of Whitney High in Cerritos, California, which went from the brink of extinction, where local schools dumped failing students, to becoming the number one school in California. This is an example of what can happen when schools set high expectations for their students. Although a public jr./sr. high school, students must take an admittance try to be enrolled at the school. Once enrolled, students are told that they must apply to at least 5 colleges, including at least one public and one private. Most of the students aim for Harvard, Yale or Princeton, due to parental the parent of a high school student, I found this book to be very interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    School of Dreams: Making the Grade at a Top American High School review []  2020-1-16 19:1

    I'll begin with a disclaimer. I'm a Whitney alum, so let's obtain a few inaccuracies and omissions out of the way. First, the huge orange lockers were not part of the original décor; they were installed in the late 1980s, a vast improvement over the old one foot by one foot sorry excuses for lockers. Second, despite not having a gym method back then, Whitney still offered an impressive array of varsity sports, including basketball, tennis, and water polo. And third, unless the meal in the Hutch has gone completely downhill over the past decade, it was never *that* at said, as a scholar, I think Hume has written a amazing ethnography within a solid historical context. I have no doubt that if he'd spent a few more years on the campus, the picture he paints would be even more revealing, simply because he would have been able to share even more insight from a wider dozens of people. (Perhaps this volume would then contain interviews with my favorite teachers who are still teaching at Whitney, Mrs. Breik, Mrs. Kesinger, and Mrs. El Moussa, and maybe even a few in-depth portraits of students that were more like me!) In all honesty, however, I can't imagine the average reader wanting to read much more than the existing 400 om an educator's point of view, here's what I think this volume has to offer to K-12 teachers and administrators:1) Obtain parents involved. Parents have a vested interest in their children's achievement. Take advantage of their natural enthusiasm; the next time you run into obstacles with the school board, obtain your parents to attend a board meeting.2) Believe in your students. It doesn't matter if you enroll your students through an admissions try or they came straight off the streets. If you believe in them, they will succeed.3) Use technology wisely. Computers are not a cure-all. In fact, they can even be a hindrance. Don't allow them displace a well-designed traditional curriculum. Use them only where they are ly, as a parent, I search Hume's treatise to be a useful cautionary tale. Despite having attended Whitney not too long ago, I'd already forgotten much of what it was like, and this book brought it all back: the students' misguided focus on grades, the pressure cooker atmosphere during comps, etc. One parent's confession was especially poignant - she didn't know what it was like because her daughter never said anything to her. I wish to teach my kids to test their best but know how to have fun, and it's amazing to be reminded that what we don't say is just as necessary as what we do say.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Learning Without Tears - My First School Book Student Workbook, Current Edition - Get Set for School Series - Pre-K Writing Book - Social-Emotional, Pre-Writing Skills - for School or Home Use review []  2020-1-31 13:18

    The product description says this "Includes teaching guidelines and lesson plans for simple teacher prep." The pack I received included the two workbooks with NO instructions in the workbooks. There is a sticker on the back of the pack that says "Visit to download FREE Lesson Plans and Teaching Guidelines" and it provides a passcode. I had to register at that website with my address, phone number, e-mail, etc before I could enter my passcode. Upon entering the passcode, I was given access to 7 one page documents. All of these were similar to the "Kick Begin Kindergarten" mini booklet. No documents similar to the "My First School Book." One of the documents is a welcome letter designed for a school to send to a parent simply informing them that they are using this curriculum. Another is a lined piece of paper for name writing practice. The instructions are this: "Adult demonstrates. Kid imitates. Adult demonstrates. Kid imitates. Adult demonstrates. Kid imitates." THAT is your free lesson plan and teaching e seller needs to be transparent in the description of this product and allow the buyer know they are buying an unengaging workbook with letters on lines and very small room for practice, with no actual instruction, and if they wish actual instruction, they need to spend an extra $28 for a teacher tutorial (which I did not purchase given the item description, so I cannot attest to how helpful that actually is).Save your money!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Learning Without Tears - My First School Book Student Workbook, Current Edition - Get Set for School Series - Pre-K Writing Book - Social-Emotional, Pre-Writing Skills - for School or Home Use review []  2020-1-31 13:18

    We home school and my 3 year old daughter often feels left out when they are doing school work. This workbook is lots of fun and can be used beyond the printed instruction. After she completed all of the exercises, we had her practice counting the shapes and letters, and then color in all of the animals, or draw background scenes or add decorative patterns to the objects on the page. She felt all grown up with her own fun spite of the title, my twin 6 year old boys shed lots of tears when doing handwriting (it has nothing to do with the content) jumping in at level 2. Hopefully starting my daughter with the first book will help.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Learning Without Tears - My First School Book Student Workbook, Current Edition - Get Set for School Series - Pre-K Writing Book - Social-Emotional, Pre-Writing Skills - for School or Home Use review []  2020-1-31 13:18

    This is a unbelievable book. I bought a few books to teach my children to write letters, and most of them are very huge and follow the alphabet arrangement to teach children to write. So when I ordered this book I was a tad disappointed that the letters were not arranged alphabetically, and children learned to write random alphabets. But I did a few pages. One night while reading a book, I asked one of my boys who had a hard time with letters to read specific letters, and he got all of them write. He was starting to tell the difference between B and D, and T and I for the first time. I was surprised and satisfied because we had just done those letters the day before from this book. I am nearing completion and am very very satisfied with the progress my children have made. My boys are 4 and have just started to learn to write all their alphabets, but were behind the girls in their class. So I spent the summer on this book. Initially it took longer but now I do 2-3 pages everyday and we should finish in the next week or so. I am very very satisfied with this book. This is one of the best books I have seen for writing practice and much better than the boring books out there that just expect children to write alphabet over and over to remember. The only thing that would have created this book better is if it had included "zigzag". One of my boys writes in a "curvy" method for A, M, W, V, etc. It is hard for him to create powerful corners with a straight line and makes it curvy instead. I didn't search that this book helped much there. Once I showed him zig zag and created zig zag lines, he was able to write A, M, W, V, N, etc. much better. Also, he had a very hard time telling the difference between C and S and kept writing C as ). Even doing this book didn't support there. So I want this book had focused on creative ways to support there. However, I still highly recommend this book. My children are starting preschool this year and they are already doing well in their letters. One of my boys who was struggling with recognizing letters did better with this book than the other who knows his letters very well but doesn't know to write yet. I want a related book existed for little letters. The next level is too high since it has the children write words. I really want there was one book on little letters. Regarding not having this in alphabetical order, it makes sense to me now because the book focuses on having the children progress in the right method rather than just follow alphabetical order.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Learning Without Tears - My First School Book Student Workbook, Current Edition - Get Set for School Series - Pre-K Writing Book - Social-Emotional, Pre-Writing Skills - for School or Home Use review []  2020-1-31 13:18

    I’ve been using these + the teacher tutorial and required accessories to tutor a former student of mine. He went from barely having a grasp on his letters to “That’s easy!” In just 2 months, with 2 classes per week. The reason this program works so well is that it’s not just a workbook, it’s a android game for them, and children learn through play! I love HWT and recommend it to anyone that will listen!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Learning Without Tears - My First School Book Student Workbook, Current Edition - Get Set for School Series - Pre-K Writing Book - Social-Emotional, Pre-Writing Skills - for School or Home Use review []  2020-1-31 13:18

    This is a amazing project book for small children learning how to keep a pencil. We also incorporated crayons and even careful water color paints. This gave my young kid confidence to use a pencil to create shapes, numbers and letters at a beginner level. This is a amazing #1 book for pre k or k depending on your child's developmental skills. Kinder children would go through this much quicker than pre k, but the next level book, I think, was just a small too advanced for my kindergartener who hasn't had much experience in drawing letter characters. This helped her tremendously.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Learning Without Tears - My First School Book Student Workbook, Current Edition - Get Set for School Series - Pre-K Writing Book - Social-Emotional, Pre-Writing Skills - for School or Home Use review []  2020-1-31 13:18

    Really like this book! We were struggling with getting my daughter to keep her writing utensil correctly when I heard about this program. I like that it makes it fun without putting pressure on her. Since we got this book I have definitely noticed an improvement with her handwriting and fine motor skills since we have started to use this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Learning Without Tears - My First School Book Student Workbook, Current Edition - Get Set for School Series - Pre-K Writing Book - Social-Emotional, Pre-Writing Skills - for School or Home Use review []  2020-1-31 13:18

    Best handwriting aid on the market. As a mom of seven I have tried numerous curriculums and this is the best!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Learning Without Tears - My First School Book Student Workbook, Current Edition - Get Set for School Series - Pre-K Writing Book - Social-Emotional, Pre-Writing Skills - for School or Home Use review []  2020-1-31 13:18

    When l taught we used this program for children that required additional is a amazing program for all children to boost their skills.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Learning Without Tears - My First School Book Student Workbook, Current Edition - Get Set for School Series - Pre-K Writing Book - Social-Emotional, Pre-Writing Skills - for School or Home Use review []  2020-1-31 13:18

    Such a amazing first school book! Teaches all capital letters, and colors. Also focuses on pencil positioning and individual strokes. You basically only need the tutorial for the first 3-4 pages, so we skipped it, and just had her “scribble” on each star, firefly, firework, etc. My 4yo daughter enjoyed using this as a Pre-K book, and doing handwriting. She felt “big” like her huge sister, who was using the more advanced book by this publisher!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Learning Without Tears - My First School Book Student Workbook, Current Edition - Get Set for School Series - Pre-K Writing Book - Social-Emotional, Pre-Writing Skills - for School or Home Use review []  2020-1-31 13:18

    I am currently home schooling my first grader and though my daughter wanted to join us she was often left out and frustrated with our challenging curriculum. I bought this book for my 4 year old daughter so she could do "school" too and it's a excellent combination of fun school work that will teach her the basics before she reaches kindergarten. We are enjoying it each day together!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Leaving to Learn: How Out-of-School Learning Increases Student Engagement and Reduces Dropout Rates review []  2020-1-26 19:7

    This book has vital material for teachers and principals in the war for resources to deliver amazing programs to kids: The key is to create school private for students. Build the programs around each student's r example, look at this quote:"Researchers have calculated the cost to society of dropouts but have missed the significantly larger cost of disengaged students who graduate from high school but are nonetheless unprepared for lifelong learning and whose talents and potential have been sadly ignored, often because those talents lie outside the traditional topic matter focus of a cognitive/abstract curriculum."P. 120Elliot Washor and Charles Mojkowski have written the book that could aid those principals who are waiting for the right vocabulary to hit their desks. This book is the sledgehammer that principals need to tear down walls separating the workplace from classrooms. This book is the scissors required to chop through red rents can use this book to obtain the personalized school that will serve their MMARY: Leaving to Learn...Great title.Excellent procedures (pages 108-116 plus policies 123-124)Vocabulary for teachers and principals... just the right amount of documentation to persuade a superintendent to let a change in procedures....Hey, parents and students,School can be fun again -- and worth your time. Search out how: step one: Photocopy pages 108-116 and pages ep two: deliver those copies to your ep three: obtain a petition started to help these ep four: deliver the signed petition to your principal's bosses.Washor and Mojkowski have compiled a 150-page book that describes issues with schools and offers easy-to-follow procedures for allowing children to learn outside the e book will support parents talk to principals, who might have heard of projects and digital portfolios and private learning plans, but lacked an easy-to-read method of showing their teachers "Hey, let's do this."

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Leaving to Learn: How Out-of-School Learning Increases Student Engagement and Reduces Dropout Rates review []  2020-1-26 19:7

    This book is a NECESSITY if you work in education today. The "data" is clear: 3 million dropouts each year; 50% in urban settings; and a third prior to 10th grade. The result: ineligible for 90% of US jobs; low pay, if any; and a life for a lot of that may be unfulfilled and challenging. Besides that, many, many, a lot of children are simply bored, no matter the community, and not finding any meaning or value to their this book, Elliot Washor and Charlie Mojkowski share the chance of how to engage and reengage our youth in their learning, no matter where, by making it meaningful, purposeful, and useful ... by taking students' learning OUTSIDE the school. Based on the work of Huge Picture schools and beyond, Elliot and Charlie provide clear and perfect tip as to how ANY school system can reengage their youth through out of school learning - whether it be internships, after school programs, work, or online own daughter, oldest of three and now 22, hated high school (and she went to a supposedly amazing school!). An Honors student, she did her assignments as quickly as possible and homework on the bus. In short, she went through all the motions and when all was said and done, said she didn't wish to go to college because she couldn't take sitting in chairs, reading material that didn't matter to her, or discussing material for which she saw no true purpose. Smart? Yes. Creative? Yes. Energetic and engaged otherwise? YES! When outside of school. How much would she have gained if her high school (again, one known throughout the state as one of the best) would have figured out a method to engage her true interests, passions, and talent. But no, and cynically I say, educators can't obtain out of their own method to do something better. Monsters of habit and unable to break the mold for the better, we are tied to alarm bells and moving students from subject-to-subject - because that is how it has always been done. It takes courage and will to do something different, even if it is the right thing to do. And unfortunately, it is easier to maintain the status quo then to push the envelope with something significantly different. And because of that, we continue to disengage our youth, an immoral act. And, unfortunately, they are the one's that suffer, not us, because we do not have the courage or will, or perhaps creativity, to do things that are better. Significantly ever, IF you are willing to be courageous and willing to step outside of the box for our youth, this book can support you consider fresh possibilities of engagement for our youth, tried and true. Whether you lead a district or school, or are an administrator or teacher, Leaving to Learn is filled with a multitude of ways to engage and reengage those who are already disengaged. And provides perfect tip on how to pursue these possibilities in your community. If my daughter could have had such opportunities, perhaps she would have considered college in a fresh light, seeing a purpose for going, just like the students in Huge Picture schools and those others that have been afforded the opportunity to leave to an educator of over 30 years (Harvard, Brown, and now Northeastern), I have worked in tons of districts and a hundred schools, and I cannot think of one where the students could not have benefitted from the opportunity to learn OUTSIDE the box (conceptual and literal). And I cannot imagine this is not real of your children sed on years of experience at Huge Picture schools and beyond, this book not only presents why to pursue such possibilities, but ideas on how to create it a reality in your own community. Try the waters. Dip your toe in. Read this book, and then ask ... now what?

    0  





    Search Cloud

    dota pro circuit reviews valentine day frames 2018 reviews lotfancy refrigerant freon leak detector for cfcs hcfcs hfcs halogen r134a r410a r22a r600a r290 air condition hvac reviews interdynamics 375cs engine cooling systems uv dye universal chemicals reviews windshield wiper transmission linkage assembly for audi a4 quattro rs4 s4 seat exeo reviews apdty 139911 windshield wiper transmission assembly reviews for mercedes benz ml class w164 w166 rear wiper arm blade and cap oem reviews dorman 49444 windshield wiper linkage clip kit reviews flashlight caller reviews 1 pair windscreen wiper linkage clip wiper arms repair clip kit motor wiper linkage repair clip reviews chrome 5m flexible trim for car interior exterior moulding strip decorative p2 for toyota avalon reviews chrome 5m flexible trim for car interior exterior moulding strip decorative p1 for infiniti g35 reviews green 5m flexible trim for car interior exterior moulding strip decorative p1 for mini cooper countryman reviews car decorative moulding trim strip molding line red 5m x 4mm reviews chrome 5m flexible trim for car interior exterior moulding strip decorative p2 for nissan sentra reviews 3m x 6mm chrome u style flex trim moulding for interior edge vent grille panel for pontiac g5 reviews 3m x 6mm chrome u style flex trim moulding for interior edge vent grille panel for lexus es350 reviews chrome 5m flexible trim for car interior exterior moulding strip decorative p1 for infiniti g37 reviews 3m x 6mm chrome u style flex trim moulding for interior edge vent grille panel for chevrolet tahoe reviews green 5m flexible trim for car interior exterior moulding strip decorative p2 for nissan versa note reviews

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter