the climate chronicles: inconvenient revelations you won Reviews & Opinions


Submit the climate chronicles: inconvenient revelations you won review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Climate Chronicles: Inconvenient Revelations You Won't Hear From Al Gore--And Others review [Book]  2018-2-1 18:2

    An outstanding read for anyone who seeks the truth and seeks to question the narrative of "climate change". Very well written. History, humor, past blogs written by Joe, outstanding points and a lot of revelations of the history of our climate. Follow him on facebook, you'll learn a lot. I sure have. Stan Cloutier.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Climate Chronicles: Inconvenient Revelations You Won't Hear From Al Gore--And Others review [Book]  2018-2-1 18:2

    The Climate Chronicles is a MUST READ for every woman, man and child! Joe @#$%!&?i is a scientist who utilizes facts and peer reviewed data to show a comprehensive, coherent and analytical mosaic of why the climate is, has been and will always be e Climate Chronicles educates, informs and enlightens the reader on what is event to our climate and does not demagogue or propagandize the fact, The Climate Chronicles is a love story..... a love story of a dedicated, sincere climate scientist and his love of Planet Earth. The book, as it's subtitle states, reveals revelations of the SCIENCE of the weather and the climate. Climate Chronicles cuts through the fog of "political misinformation" and delivers a clear view of the truth on Climate change.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Climate Chronicles: Inconvenient Revelations You Won't Hear From Al Gore-And Others review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:1

    Having just finished this book, and looking over the notes I took as I read along, I believe Joe is the kind of guy you wish with you when weather/climate really matters. He loves the weather (It’s the only weather we got, right?) It’s his life-long passion. He also, as a privateer weatherman, has to lay it on the line with every forecast-unlike the joker alarmists who hold getting a pass when their long-range predictions and models fail miserably. Joe’s the guy on the frontline, with his sleeves rolled up. He’s grounded in is is why I believe the material in the book, though sometimes repetitive, is well worth the read. Here’s a list of what I enjoyed most:Quotes (snippets) like those of H. L. Mencken, particularly, “The urge to save humanity is almost always a false front for the urge to rule.” AND “The whole aim of practical politics is to hold the populace alarmed (and hence clamorous to be led to safety) by an endless series of hobgoblins, most of them imaginary.”That beautiful well sums up the mode of the climate alarmistas. It also nails what Eisenhower noted as the scientific-technology e analogy of CO2 being the the control knob of planetary climate changes. It’s almost magical thinking when pondering how a lot of other variables are e hokey hockey stick (Mann’s) versus the REAL hockey stick of increased prosperity and longevity was well handled. Truth: I’d much rather spend an hour with Joe B at Duffy's Tavern, than spend it entrenched inside an echo chamber with the likes of Michael Mann or Bill Nye. Joe keeps his Libertarian self on the bright side and doesn’t stray into the “dark side” of explaining what the end android game is for those that work the populace into a frenzy. But I found a few nuggets to cherish.“A colder planet would lead to untold misery given the current policies geared toward the opposite.”Irony: The system which has given people the ability to spread their wings is the system climate alarmists are now trying to destroy and replace. Joe also expresses compassion toward his antagonists who have to stick with their claims and fend off anyone who questions them and their consensus. It’s their livelihood and reputation at stake-a psycho-social-economic entrapment. In other words, they’re ere’s more to be said about this writing that I found stimulating, humorous, honest, and informative. But the review must end here. Reading The Climate Chronicles takes the reader into the heart of weather forecasting and reminds us, as in Joe’s standard sign off on audio, “Enjoy (i.e love) the weather, it’s the only weather you got!”

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on the climate chronicles: inconvenient revelations you won or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch the climate chronicles: inconvenient revelations you won video reviews and related movies:

    See All the Places You’ll Go…Except When You Don’t on youtube.

     related image

    See ШЕРЛОК ХОЛМС И ДОКТОР ВАТСОН (советский сериал все серии подряд) on youtube.

     related image

    See Subpoena CRAZY!!! on youtube.

     related image

    See Let Me Show You What #GLOBAL #DIMMING Looks Like! on youtube.

     related image

    See MAYAN CALENDAR & HUMAN DNA II PROPHECIES & SUN REVERSALS 1 on youtube.

     related image

    See Hannity and Related on youtube.

     related image

    See Tell It To The World on youtube.

     related image

    See Craig Keener | Miracles: The Credibility of the New Testament Accounts on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Climate Chronicles: Inconvenient Revelations You Won't Hear From Al Gore-And Others review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:1

    When I was growing up I remember asking my dad, "how do you know when someone knows what they are talking about?" Dad's response was straight forward and simple, "well son, you talk to the experts with experience in the subject." For a long time I thought it was a blow off answer, until I met a few experts with experience. In just a few mins talking to an individual like that, one can readily determine that, "wow, this guy knows what he is talking about."This is the experience I attained while breezing through The Climate Chronicles. Joe @#$%!&?i clearly has a LOT of experience in his field of meteorology. He understands that systems of our planet are cyclical and uses history to predict future patterns. His writing, while from an educated perspective, is not overdone with hard to comprehend technical language. He also has a sharp sense of humor which is prevalent and quite amusing.Overall I'd say this book is absolutely worth the few hours read. You'll learn a bit about weather history, a bit about scientific methodology, and a lot about how the climate change agenda is more about manipulation of the populace than the saving of the planet.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Climate Chronicles: Inconvenient Revelations You Won't Hear From Al Gore-And Others review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:1

    F.A. Hayek (Nobel Laureate) once wrote:" The curious task of economics is to demonstrate to men how small they really know about what they imagine they can design". In "The Climate Chronicles", Joe @#$%!&?i (J.B.) humorously shows how small theProgressive Predators really know about the climate, and what they imagine they can design about it.He truly pulls an "Alinsky" on the Alinskycrats by ridiculing their AGW notions with facts fromEarth's climate history and shows that there is nothing fresh event with our weather.J.B. is aware that our climate system is open, non-linear and complexand he studies its recurring patterns and processes for histimely forecasts.He understands that this begin system is wonderfully arranged toself-regulate with both positive and negative feedback phenomena as it interactswith forces in our solar system (including the Sun's electromagnetism).He appreciates how all things in nature are inseparably connected togetherin the field where they are found (Clerk Maxwell).Einstein claimed that Maxwell's field theory was one of the greatest steps forward in science.He also understood that any genuine scientist requires a profound faith along with"that humble attitude of mind toward the grandeur of reason incarnate in existence which in its profoundest depths is inaccessible to man".J.B. possesses these qualities of openness, faith and humility whichenable him to obtain closer to the truth and is book will also provide its reader with a amazing look at the soundnessof J.B.'s reasoning and methods.He reminds us that the political left has yet to reject the null hypothesis on climate change(at climate changes are natural variations) and he discusses thenumerous failed predictions of the AGW enthusiasts.If Richard Feynman was still around, he would remind us:"It doesn't matter how attractive your theory is,it doesn't matter how intelligent you are.If it doesn't agree with experiment, it's wrong."So we can easily see why J.B.'s enemies avoid debating him on the basis of empirical facts.And Yes! I would pay top dollar to see J.B. debate Michael Mann.When I think of characters like Mann and John Holdren, I usually pondera quote by astronomer Halton Arp whose researchfindings have seriously challenged Huge Bang orthodoxy:"If you take a highly smart individual and give him the best possible elite education,you most likely end up with an academic who is completely impervious to reality".Unfortunately, our press (American Pravda-- James O'keefe) perpetuates this (falsified) AGW theory-- instead of exposing it--- to support the Progressive Predators in their missionto destroy American sovereignty and replace capitalism with a fresh (Marxist) economic globe the info of the Paris Climate Agreement to see how it would have been a major stepforward in realizing those radical goals. President Trump acted wisely when he nixed that unconstitutional move by when it comes to the left, the problem (imate change) is never the e problem is always about the acquisition of ior to his first presidency, Obama boldly admitted that his goal was "...to fundamentally transform the U.S.".In stark contrast, J.B. is a streetwise, American patriot who understands his role in God's creation. He knows that success in the true globe is less about what you are,and more about what you can do for discerning customers.He provides useful info and forecasts to the public which support them avoidproperty losses and tragic deaths. Acquaint yourself with his work and you will benefit too.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Climate Chronicles: Inconvenient Revelations You Won't Hear From Al Gore-And Others review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:1

    Finally, a book that offers Truth versus all the dishonest, confusing and agenda-based jib jab regarding climate change theory. From the pope to basic school teachers, a lot of have been misled by those who have jumped on the Al Gore bandwagon resulting in the proliferation of fake weather news around our country and world. Mr. @#$%!&?i is an expert in the field of meteorology, and most important, a servant of the Truth. There is a amazing deal to be learned from his book for those who are humble enough to read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Climate Chronicles: Inconvenient Revelations You Won't Hear From Al Gore-And Others review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:1

    I enjoyed the book and learned more than a few things about climate. I plan to reread it in the near future because I wish to I obtain even more out of it. I do feel, however, that there was a failing on the part of the editors and publishers. There are a lot of acronyms and a number with no identification or no current explanation after being mentioned previously. I also felt a glossary would have created the work an easier read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Climate Chronicles: Inconvenient Revelations You Won't Hear From Al Gore-And Others review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:1

    First I read climate change books, then I started reading those by 'the deniers.' Those who argue that climate change is inevitable and natural, and not a CO2-driven happening are presenting a stronger argument. I'd urge people to read B's book for science and weather FACTS. The references to B's faith, though necessary to him, could have been left out as it diluted the strength of the science.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Climate Chronicles: Inconvenient Revelations You Won't Hear From Al Gore-And Others review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:1

    Mr Basrardi’s tell it like it is approach to weather situations has always has always ‘cleared the air’. Joe’s approach to cutting through the half-truths and clutter produced by a lot of “experts” and “science guys” inserts a huge dose of reality into the conversation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Climate Chronicles: Inconvenient Revelations You Won't Hear From Al Gore-And Others review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:1

    A perspective from someone who has an historic perspective of the history of weather and eats, sleeps, and lives his meteorology career

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Climate Chronicles: Inconvenient Revelations You Won't Hear From Al Gore-And Others review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:1

    I have been aware of Joe @#$%!&?i for years. He is straightforward and factual, with no drama. He clearly shows the falsification of the lies of the Climatologists who wish to save the planet, which will never happen. This is a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Climate Chronicles: Inconvenient Revelations You Won't Hear From Al Gore-And Others review [Book]  2018-5-6 18:1

    I’ve watched, listened & read Joe @#$%!&?i’s meteorological analyses for over 30 years & this book puts a lot of of his ideas all in 1 put as well as shooting down climate alarmist false idol of climate change in simple to understand terms.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Won Won Wok review [App]  2019-1-27 13:13

    Application doesn't work

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    Fresh modernize is very nice. Notes and review is much easier to use. Table of contents and assignments pages are also improved.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    Very simple to use. And easier to obtain work done

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    The quizzes in between chapter quizzes where not obviously labeled.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    I love the fresh update. Looks amazing and easier to use.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    Wwwwwwwwwwwooooooooooooooowwwwwwwwwwwww

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    Thanks for fixing the problem. The only thing I want to be able to do now is be able to do the quizzes offline. Would that be possible to do?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    The audio lessons are bricked together and the lesson numbering doesn't follow the chapters accurately.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    Prefer this over the computer! Can listen to chapters as I drive! Very user friendly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    How can i register in this application please tell me

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    super intuitive and much better than the web ver through canvas

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    Awesome application for college success In courses

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    I love the app. I would recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    I love it♡♡♡ it makes studying so eaay

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    Very useful

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    I have it as a backup to the laptop. There are more study options in here, at least for the class I'm in. There are small things I would like various but overall I'm glad it exists and it works well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    I love to use it when I'm between classes, out and about and have time, or forget my laptop. Let's just say that I forget it often.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    I LOVE this app..it has been a life saver for me this semester! Super helpful for me as a 1st time mom. I am able to read chapters and complete quizes while my baby nurses or naps in my arms. It does sign me out sometimes but I am able to sign right back in.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    Revel allows me the time to work on homework while at work, riding transit, at my daughter's practice, etc. Plus it is so streamline and even fun to use.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    So simple to use, I've used it for two courses already. It makes studying on the go effortless!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    Absolutely love REVEL. I like that I can have it ready to me on my method to class, the interactive concepts and maps support so much in ways that the book cannot. And the quizzes on here support so much toward the tests in class.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    When my computer acts up i can continue taking quizzes on my phone and that is very handy

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    Revel makes it were I do not have to go to class in person

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    It's extremely simple to use. A textbook at your fingertips

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    Love that i can read and take my quizzes anywhere and anytime!! Very simple to use!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    Very simple to use and useful for when I'm travelling to school, saves me from having to carry a text book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    I love doing my college work with REVEL!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    So far this is the best study tool I've had from Pearson. Want they all worked this well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    I want the study tools for learning terms was different.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    I have a Pearson acc I use on my computer and wanted a to go version. However my course I'm taking isn't part of the this app, so sad😣

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    It's an amazing study and learning tool. Thanks for making it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    This application allows me to complete my assignments anywhere and on any device

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    Beautiful amazing application that's simple to use! I really like how I can listen to the audio while looking at the text!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    This application makes studying on the go a reality.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    Let's me take my homework anywhere!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    Amazing stuff. I love being able to listen to the text while I work. Twice as productive.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    Very simple interface. Helps grasp concepts very well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    Best interactive app. I can use it on the go.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    Love it. Helps me study on the bus.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    such a amazing method to study.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    REVEL review [App]  2018-1-9 21:8

    Very convenient and user friendly

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Revel review [App]  2019-5-30 13:35

    amazing service to this amazing town

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Revel review [App]  2019-5-30 13:35

    Amazing UX love that its simple and fast and I can pick up anywhere!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Revel review [App]  2019-5-30 13:35

    Waiting for the home operating zone to Expand

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Revel review [App]  2019-5-30 13:35

    wack

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Revel review [App]  2019-5-30 13:35

    It's a super fun method to obtain around the neighborhood. Can't wait till it's nice out so I can really take a spin. On top of that the customer service is amazingly accommodating and down to earth.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Revel review [App]  2019-5-30 13:35

    Love the concept. It's so excellent for NYC. Beats grabbing an Uber and is method more fun. The application works beautiful flawlessly and the customer service is on point.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Revel review [App]  2019-5-30 13:35

    This is the best transit application invented since Uber and less expensive. I hope it expands town wide and worldwide

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Revel review [App]  2019-5-30 13:35

    Love it. Best thing since UBER. I hope they grow and expand all over NY.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Revel review [App]  2019-5-30 13:35

    Why am I having problem signing up?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Revel review [App]  2019-5-30 13:35

    Amazing luck!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Revel review [App]  2019-5-30 13:35

    Look as a amazing idea ,but I can't drop it by my house or work so waiting they should extend, one poor thing they don't tell you upfront that it cost 25$ for registration

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Revel review [App]  2019-5-30 13:35

    Tell the users up front that they will have to pay 25$ to register rather than having them fill out all the info and then notifying them after.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Revel review [App]  2019-5-30 13:35

    can only park it in the service area? allow me know when that rule changes amazing idea!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Revel review [App]  2019-5-30 13:35

    😉 Thx u...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Revel review [App]  2019-5-30 13:35

    right

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climate Change: The Climate Change Agenda - World Government, Carbon Taxes & Population Control (Climate Change, Global Warming, World Government) review []  2020-1-24 22:0

    This is a fascinating book on climate change and how it can affect the whole globe in the years to come. The book is not just a list of opinions and a rant on what is going on in the globe and behind the scenes, but true sources are used to back the claims. Also there are arguments created for the positive and negative affects of climate change and if they are really produced by what the "research" says. Overall this is a really interesting read for anyone interested not only in the evidence for or versus climate change, but what that debete means for the evolution of the world's population. Very Good!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climate Change: The Climate Change Agenda - World Government, Carbon Taxes & Population Control (Climate Change, Global Warming, World Government) review []  2020-1-24 22:0

    This book is not so much about how climate change works, but rather what political agendas are supposedly supported and takes benefit from climate change actions. If you're interested in huge scale conspiracies, various sides of the political agenda that may or may not accompany the climate change reality, then this book is for you. If you're looking to learn facts about climate change, pollution and ways to work for a better world, then this is not the right book for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climate Change: The Climate Change Agenda - World Government, Carbon Taxes & Population Control (Climate Change, Global Warming, World Government) review []  2020-1-24 22:0

    You just have to take a look at this. It is so tempting to tell what the books premise is but that would be,like,telling you who shot is book is all about the scary, one globe plan. Mitsubishi,all,about sea levels, global temperatures, oil, artic ice, concencus and lack of consensus, the United Nations, science vs. politics, the globe meal supply and is is a,must read. I found myself questioning myself and my own is book is truly worth .99 for,the questions you will ask yourself.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climate Change: The Climate Change Agenda - World Government, Carbon Taxes & Population Control (Climate Change, Global Warming, World Government) review []  2020-1-24 22:0

    A amazing book on climate change. This book is very useful. From this book you can know about what is climate change, why climate change is true and caused by us, the climate change fallacy or the conspiracy to promote it, the climate change agenda, carbon taxing and cap and trade, climate change agenda's result on meal supplies, the agenda and population control. All are very useful and informative.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climate Change: The Climate Change Agenda - World Government, Carbon Taxes & Population Control (Climate Change, Global Warming, World Government) review []  2020-1-24 22:0

    Excellent book, I am glad to read this book. This is amazing, a detail explanation on climate is book really support me to understand the science, politics, and future projection of climate change. Recommended this book to everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climate Change: The Climate Change Agenda - World Government, Carbon Taxes & Population Control (Climate Change, Global Warming, World Government) review []  2020-1-24 22:0

    Climate change is an necessary subject and we must have aware about this. This book a complete tutorial which will tell more. I read this book and really appreciate author, recommended to everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climate Change: The Climate Change Agenda - World Government, Carbon Taxes & Population Control (Climate Change, Global Warming, World Government) review []  2020-1-24 22:0

    One of the worst books I have read, not just on climate change but in general. Empty arguments. Spends 5% of the book on reasons why climate change is caused by humans and the rest on why it's doubtful that it is. It's a clever technique because the author doesn't outright deny human-caused climate change, but rather just says the right things to make doubt. Oh, and what better method to do it then by the far-right's favorite lines: "They're trying to control us""New globe order""Centralized government to rule all"Also, note the language used when describing climate change: schemes, agenda, control, e book does achieve its goal: Make doubt. And mind you, it says consensus is not truly achievable because of the complexities of climate change. Yet author claims consensus of does that deny it. Laughable.Ridiculous waste of time. If you're not sure about climate change, do your own research. Read scientific papers. Educate yourself. Don't waste your time in this biased and terribly-written book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climate Change: The Climate Change Agenda - World Government, Carbon Taxes & Population Control (Climate Change, Global Warming, World Government) review []  2020-1-24 22:0

    Next to terrorism climate change is the largest threat to the globe right now say the opening words and so apt by the author. Look around the slow death planet earth is dying. This book is surely a wake up call to all the authorities and individuals alike who have taken for granted that the earth will live for infinity. Not so. We can save the earth and this book does a amazing job of starting the movement by making awareness of the international clauses and treaty. I am impressed by the book and the movement it can create.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climate Change: The Climate Change Agenda - World Government, Carbon Taxes & Population Control (Climate Change, Global Warming, World Government) review []  2020-1-24 22:0

    Beautiful one sided versus the existence of climate change. Had some solid info about plans to reduce carbon emissions. I would've generally liked it to be longer with more info abou the mechanics of the whole thing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stars Above: A Lunar Chronicles Collection (The Lunar Chronicles) review []  2020-1-16 11:41

    The Lunar Chronicles is a unbelievable series with an awesome storyline, characters, and writing, but you have to admit that there was a lot going on in all of the books. Not to mention the multiple unanswered questions piling up. So to officially wrap up the series once and for all, Marissa Meyer released an engaging, captivating, heartbreaking collection of short stories that tied up any and all loose ends. Thank god, because after Winter ended, I still required more of these beloved characters! There are a total of nine stories included in this collection, one of them a completely separate story set in the same world, and one of them an epilogue describing the aftermath of the entire series. I'm going to review each of these stories separately, going in the order they were e Keeper: 3.5 stars. An interesting look into how Michelle Benoit cared for Cinder before she became a cyborg, and how Cinder's and Scarlet's stories are intertwined. This one was okay, considering it was about a minor hero who was less involved throughout the series, and it was fun to read and pick up on Scarlet's small cameos. However, I kind of want we got to learn more about Logan Tanner and how he came in contact with Princess Selene. But overall, it was a amazing itches: 4.5 stars. This one picks up immediately after The Keeper, and tells us how Cinder created her method to Fresh Beijing, met Adri, Pearl, and Peony, and rebuilt Iko, simultaneously finding a knack in her crazy fresh world. It also tells us what happened to the mysterious Linh Garan, the inventor of the bioelectricity device, and Cinder's stepfather. It was really interesting to search out how Cinder ended up in Fresh Beijing, and her reactions to meeting her fresh family for the first time. It was definitely strange reading about a Cinder who didn't exactly stand up for herself, and was weak, scared, and lonely. I was glad when Cinder first realized her talent for fixing objects, and to see a sign of the familiar Cinder. Peony was super kind from the beginning, and that makes her storyline even more sad. This was a really amazing story, with great, descriptive writing, and an intriguing e Queen's Army: 4.5 stars. This short story was about Wolf (or Ze'ev), and the challenges he had to face when becoming a part of Levana's mutated wolf-soldier army. This was an especially intense story, and gives us the background I was searching for with Wolf. Since he isn't a very outgoing character, I feel like this is a very necessary addition to his story, and I can relate to him more now that I know more about well's Tutorial To Being Lucky: 5 stars. Thorne is one of my favorite characters in this series, mainly because he reminds me so much of Han Solo. And I also think that Han Solo would have a related backstory. Of course Thorne's jokes and quips were awesome, but seeing and understanding his past and how it influenced his later personality was fun to read about. It was amazing making connections between his 13-year-old self and the man he was going to become, such as his type of girl. Those similarities were really what sold this for me, and I felt like I was reading about the same Thorne having adventures on the ter Sunshine Passes By: 4 stars. Even the title makes me tear up a small bit. Cress's imprisonment on the satellite is heartbreaking, but knowing that she gets her satisfied ending in the end somehow created the whole ordeal e Princess and the Guard: 4.5 stars. Now THIS is what I was hoping for in Stars Above. Winter and Jacin are probably the two main characters we know the least about, especially since Jacin is so internalized, and their backstory was desperately needed. This one was mostly based on the cruelty of Levana, and the relationship between Winter and Jacin. Non-hallucinating Winter is just as amazing as crazy Winter, and sort of reminded me of Cinder and Cress in certain ways. We also obtain to see a tremendous present of strength on Winter's part, when Levana forces her to carve up her own face, and she refuses to allow even a tear fall during the event. And although it was horrifying, this somehow makes her craziness even more e Small Android: 5 stars. This one got me the most. Even though it has no relation to the rest of the Lunar Chronicles, aside from a little cameo by Cinder, this is a very heartbreaking, tearjerking story that will definitely tug on your heartstrings. It's a retelling of the original Small Mermaid tale, and just like the original, this story has a very bittersweet ending. It chronicles the happenings that follow after an android device falls in love with a human engineer, and rejects her original programming. This android device reminded a lot of Iko, just a small quieter. It created me wonder if there a lot of independent androids in the Lunar Chronicles universe, but it mostly just created me tear up a e Mechanic: 4.5 stars. Not an extremely necessary story, but a beautiful amazing one. This is the first meeting between Kai and Cinder told from Kai's perspective, and it is very lightweight. I know some readers aren't large fans of reverse POV's stories, but it is a really interesting and insightful addition that sheds some light on Kai's early motivations and personality, and of course, why he fell for mething Old, Something New: 5 stars. An amazing, fun, detailed epilogue of the entire Lunar Chronicles. It tells the story of Cinder and the rest of the Rampion squad reuniting on Scarlet's farm for an unforgettable event. (cough, WEDDING, cough.) This is once again told from Cinder's POV, and is a really neat method to wrap everything up, although it did serve as a reminder that this fantastic, unbelievable series is finally over. However, it was the best conclusion an author could have written, given the circumstances.Overall, this was a truly great, astounding short story collection that ties up all loose ends, and answers any questions a reader may have about the Lunar Chronicles. Each story was completely filled with action, adventure, emotional conflict, and descriptive, enticing writing. No one else could have done it better. Farewell, Lunar Chronicles.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stars Above: A Lunar Chronicles Collection (The Lunar Chronicles) review []  2020-1-16 11:41

    Marissa Meyer's Lunar Chronicles became one of my favorite series of the past few years. I loved the sci-fi twist on classic fairy tales, how the author showcased her four heroines, and the method that the complicated plot was slowly revealed. I finished Winter with happiness, but also wanted to hold hanging out with these amazing characters. So I was ecstatic to read Stars Above, which encompasses nine various short stories in this world, and it was as unbelievable as I was hoping it would is my ranking of the stories (with my notes):1. Something Old, Something NewAn epilogue for the entire series which focuses on one of the couple's upcoming nuptials. I loved that Cinder was once again the narrator and that it showcased friendship as much as romance. A amazing method to tie everything together.2. The MechanicWhat Kai was thinking when he met Cinder for the first time. I'm not usually into reverse POV's stories, but I adore Kai and thought this was very well-done. I liked the insight into his desire to support his country, no matter what he had to deal with personally.3. The Small AndroidThe most loosely connected story that is a retelling of The Small Mermaid. Very interesting info about androids and cyborgs. This one had me tearing up the most.4. After Sunshine Passes ByCress is my favorite of all the heroines and I thought the story of how she was placed on the satellite was heartbreaking. It just created me so angry to see how the Lunars treated the shells.5. GlitchesCinder arrives in Fresh Beijing and meets the Linh family including Iko! This one was sad due to how alone Cinder felt and what happens when the plague hits the household.6. The Queen's ArmyMore about Ze'ev's family on Luna and how he was turned into one of Queen Levana's supersoldiers. What I liked most about this story was the determination Ze'ev showed throughout his ordeal and how that foreshadowed his storyline.7. The KeeperA fast look at how Scarlet's grandmother became involved in the whole situation when her former lover arrives on Earth with the severely injured Princess Selene. The sacrifices Michelle created was difficult to fathom though I enjoyed the small tidbits we got about Scarlet's childhood.8. The Princess and the GuardWinter and Jacin's early years as friends. This is one of the longer stories and it was an enjoyable look into characters that I felt like I knew the least. These two just don't interest me as much as the others.9. Carswell's Tutorial to Being LuckyThis was funny and surprisingly poignant especially considering it was about a young Thorne. I liked seeing what his family was like and how they helped shape his seemingly carefree attitude towards life. It was also interesting to see that his type of girl was the same even back ese novellas provide dozens of fun to readers who already fans of the series. I definitely wouldn't suggest reading these before the other Lunar Chronicles books even though, chronologically, most of them happen before the full-length novels. They are full of insight into characters and secrets that I think would be spoiled if read beforehand. But, if you love these characters, this is definitely a book you will have fun and is a amazing addition to an already fabulous series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stars Above: A Lunar Chronicles Collection (The Lunar Chronicles) review []  2020-1-16 11:41

    So I really liked this e Keeper was one of the ones I was most interested in: the story of how Scarlet's grandmother came to be in care of wee itches picked up right after, and told of how Cinder came to live with the Linhs, how Peony was lovely from the beginning (tears!), how Adri was poor from the begin (not surprised) and how Cinder rebuilt en came The Queen's Army, which omg the FEELS. I loved Wolf and his story was heart-wrenching but I still enjoyed well's Tutorial to Being Lucky - I shamelessly love Thorne. Like if I knew him IRL I'd punch him a lot of times, but I love him as a character. And I loved seeing him as a [email protected]#$% 13 year old, already much like the man he was going to ter Sunshine Passes By - Wee Cress! This story was also sad, especially at the end, but considering you knew where it was going, and you know how it ends up, it's bearable!The Princess and the Guard - Oh, Winter and Jacin's dynamic is wonderful. This one was cute and sad at the same time, much like Winter's whole story, but again, knowing how things turn out really e Small Android device - MY HEART. This story is all brand fresh characters and holds real to the original Small Mermaid story. Meaning, it's e Mechanic - LOVED seeing the meeting between Cinder and Kai from Kai's POV. It gave a small more insight into Kai's early motivations, and more into his mething Old, Something Fresh - the wedding of the century! Except not the wedding I was expecting? Cute moment between all the couples, as well as unbelievable friendships throughout. Loved this latest bit.Overall, like I said, I really enjoyed this, even though it was one hell of an emotional rollercoaster ride.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stars Above: A Lunar Chronicles Collection (The Lunar Chronicles) review []  2020-1-16 11:41

    Stars Above is a collection of shorts that contribute to the overall story of The Lunar Chronicles. Writing over 400 pages of "supplemental" material is beautiful impressive. However, I was only engrossed by a couple of the short stories and sort of missed the general tone that I had come to appreciate in the main books. What I mean is that a few of these stories lost their general appeal: dystopian sci-fi interlaced with the nostalgia of fairy tales, and action, adventure, and romance! A lot of these stories had a flippant tone and method too much of the romance. I'm not a romance-hater by any means, but other elements need to be show or the entire ordeal is just irritating.Anyhow, I'd rank the stories in this order (from best to worst):1. The Queen's Army2. The Small Android3. The Princess and the Guard4. Glitches5. After Sunshine Passes By6. Carswell's Tutorial to Being Lucky7. The Mechanic8. Something Old, Something New9. The KeeperGenerally, I like all the extra material Meyer provides for these characters. Is this a must-read for the series? No. The main books stand on their own, and they stand well!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stars Above: A Lunar Chronicles Collection (The Lunar Chronicles) review []  2020-1-16 11:41

    After reading Winter, the official end to the Lunar Chronicles, I was so happy to see that Stars Above was there just waiting to be consumed. The worst part about ending a beloved book series is that it’s over, but with this collection of short stories, real fans obtain a possibility to indulge once more. Stars Above created me very satisfied to say good-bye, even though I know the story isn’t completely over (there’s still Wires and Nerves).It was nice to read all the shorts I’d previously missed and have a possibility to read a few fresh tales in the globe of the Lunar Chronicles. I love the method Meyers does her retellings, giving them a life of their own while using them to bring awareness to social problems that matter to e Small Android device was a sad and endearing tale that pays homage to the original story by not undoing the beautifully tragic itches seems more a tale of twisted fate than altered plans. Perhaps glitches and accidents are simply mistakes, or perhaps they are fate working itself e Queen’s Troops is a story that breaks my heart, but only because I’m so fond of the Wolf character. Still, it’s part of his story, so of course, I loved well’s Tutorial to Being Lucky is so Thorne. The saying, “no amazing deed goes unpunished” might explain a few things about his past, but this story shows his real e Keeper was my favorite of the collection. I loved having a possibility to meet and connect with a hero who never had a possibility to shine in the series because it wasn’t in her calling or purpose to do so. Without the keeper, the story wouldn’t have played out the method it ter Sunshine Passes By is another heartbreaking story. It’s a hope-crusher of a story that I was only able to bear because I know how the series e Princess and the Guard offers another look at the insanity and cruelty of Levana while showing why Winter is truly the fairest in the series. It was beautifully e Mechanic offers a unbelievable alternate point of view to the meeting of Cinder and Kai. It was really mething Old, Something Fresh was the excellent wrap-up to this epic series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stars Above: A Lunar Chronicles Collection (The Lunar Chronicles) review []  2020-1-16 11:41

    ~4-4.5/5A couple of these stories had been released before, but I’d only read one of them, and there’s a nice dozens ere’s a story featuring Scarlet and her grandma when she was little, during the time that Cinder was first brought over. There’s Wolf’s past, when he was first brought into the troops and went through the transformation. Cinder’s story, and Cinder and Kai’s first meeting through Kai’s eyes. There’s a small mermaid-based side-story featuring various favorites, though, would have to be Thorne’s story, from when he was growing up and rebelling versus his family, and how he helped a girl classmate. Thorne is fun and a sweetheart even when he tries not to be. And Cress’s story, when she was taken from the other shells and used for the queens surveillance. Her story is just sad and hopeless.But, of course, the main story that everyone is looking forward to, the latest one, a latest small epilogue. I will admit that I’d wanted more from the other characters point-of-view. But aside from that, it was excellent and adorable. We obtain to see all the characters again, see how they’re doing and what the globe is like now, and there’s a wedding and scheming and it’s just so cute. I love is series could not be more excellent and I will always be wanting more of it. I’m just kind of obsessed with the characters and everything about it.[More of my reviews are available on my blog, Geeky Reading, to which there's a link on my profile.]

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stars Above: A Lunar Chronicles Collection (The Lunar Chronicles) review []  2020-1-16 11:41

    This collection of novellas and short stories was the excellent addition to The Lunar Chronicles series! I especially loved that there was an epilogue. It was unbelievable to search out what happened over the course of the two years after they ended Levana's reign.I highly recommend anyone reading the four main novels to also contain this! I'm a stickler for reading things in order, but I also read them in the order suggested by the author. But her suggested list on her www service didn't contain all of the stories included in this collection I read them (and suggest them be read) like this:CinderThe Mechanic*Glitches*ScarletThe Keeper*The Queen's Army*CressCarswell's Tutorial To Being Lucky*After Sunshine Passes By*FairestThe Princess and The Guard*WinterSomething Old, Something New*(Starred titles are in The Lunar Chronicles Collection. Everything else is it's own book.)There's a story called The Small Android device also included in this collection but it doesn't have a direct relation to the mainstream story, so it doesn't matter when you read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stars Above: A Lunar Chronicles Collection (The Lunar Chronicles) review []  2020-1-16 11:41

    DO NOT READ IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE LUNAR CHRONICLES s Above is a collection of nine stories revealing the lives of old and fresh characters from the Lunar Chronicles. It follows Michelle Benoit, Scarlet's Grandmother, the adoption of Cinder, the transcription of Wolf, the deceptiveness of Carswell Thorne, the confinement of Crescent Moon, Kai and Cinder's first encounter in Kai's point of view, and the wedding of Wolf and Scarlet. It also reveals a fresh character. A small android device named Star, who follows the story of "The Small Mermaid". It reveals some insight on the characters backgrounds and it shows why they are who they are. These stories were such a delight to read as the final tellings in the Lunar Chronicles. Thornes story was adoring and funny. It was so light hearted and so amazing to read. Wolfs story was tragic and created me fall in love with him so much more. Michelles revealing was intriguing. It was interesting to see how the revolution of Luna began. The Small Android device was a pleasant, but terribly sad story that I adored. Over all I loved this book. It was so nice to have fun these characters one latest time. It was written perfectly. The flow of the writing and the flow between stories was surprisingly simple to follow. It was held so much emotion, so much voice. It was just a amazing collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stars Above: A Lunar Chronicles Collection (The Lunar Chronicles) review []  2020-1-16 11:41

    I feel like my love for Marissa Meyer just knows no bounds. She is one author where I could say that I would read literally anything that she writes. I mean, The Lunar Chronicles is on the top of my list of favorite series. And I, like most people, were sad to see it come to an end. Then Stars Above happened.While most of the stories in Stars Above aren't new, that didn't tame my excitement for the book. In fact, I was super satisfied to have all of the short stories that take put in the Lunar globe all in one book. Plus there were gift stories that I hadn't read yet, especially one with the tip of a wedding! I could barely include my excitement (in case you couldn't tell).In this collection of short stories we see all of our old mates again, and we meet some fresh ones. Most short stories are just fun scenes that the author thought of and didn't fit in the original story, hence why they release them separately. What Meyer has place together here, with the exception of one of the stories, is tie up lose ends and respond questions that were lingering in everyone's mind after the conclusion of Winter. How did Cress end up in that satellite? How did Wolfe become, well, Wolfe? Who all was in on the hiding of Princess Selene? And what happens after the latest book?As I mentioned, there is one story that doesn't really have any base except that it takes put in the same world. That's The Small Android. While I liked it, it just didn't fit in with the rest of the book. It was the only story that didn't have any of the characters we previously knew and it was hard to obtain a sense of where it fit in the time table of events. Doesn't mean I didn't have fun it, cause I did, it just didn't really fit for l in all, super satisfied to obtain more of these characters and also obtain the closure they deserved. I cannot wait to see what Meyer thinks of next.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stars Above: A Lunar Chronicles Collection (The Lunar Chronicles) review []  2020-1-16 11:41

    Doing what I’ve done before with a collection of short stories, I took the average of all the stories’ ratings.4.5 STARS! to the collection of stories starring the characters of The Lunar Chronicles Series. Some were unrelated but similar. Some were a peek into the past while others were in the future–a grand epilogue for the characters, if you e Keeper – 4 stars: This was the story of Scarlet’s grandmother and Princess Selene before she became Cinder. It starts with how Scarlet’s grandfather was a lunar (as suspected) and how he was the reason Cinder was saved. This answered the questions I had about Scarlet’s family and if her grandfather was Lunar. It also filled in the blanks with Cinder’s history and how she came to live with the Linh’s. Enjoyable itches – 5 stars: The story of Cinder meets her android/bff Iko. What a sweet tale. We obtain to peek into the backstory and see that Iko, even in her early days as–what I imagine as more a BB-8 sort of android–she seems to have glitches in her chip. I liked this one so much. I felt for Cinder being berated by her step-mother often for nothing. I adored Linh Peony and Cinder back together again. And we got to read about where Linh Cinder’s father really went. (Heartbreaking!)The Queen’s Troops – 5 stars: Speaking of heartbreaking…I could barely create it out of this story alive. It was how Wolf (Ze’ev) came to be. How he was taken from his home at the young age of twelve, forced into this life and form…by the end I was in TEARS! It was tough…especially since I was already feeling for Wolf from what I knew of him…*heavy sigh* Definitely worth a read…if you read nothing else in this book…Carswell’s Tutorial to Being Lucky – 5 stars: Would I really give this any less? Eh, maybe. Maybe not. I mean, this is still my favorite hero of the series. And young Carswell….he doesn’t disappoint. Ish. His snarkiness went all the method back….and it seemed he lacked a heart. But even this proves the most cunning scoundrel has one of the largest hearts. LOVED IT!After Sunshine Passes By – 3.5 stars: Cress’s tale of how she came to live in that Satellite. I LOVED Cress, but this was really depressing and sad. I enjoyed Cress being precocious and smarter than a Lunar, but her being locked away because of it… I was hoping for something more exciting than this as far as Cress’ backstory e Princess and the Guard – 5 stars: aka Snow White and the Huntsman as they grew up in Luna…I LOVED THIS ONE! THIS is what I wanted to see in Jacin this whole time! I wanted the man behind the icy exterior to come out and be seen all the time. We even obtain to see how Winter got her scars and why she refused to use her “lunar gift”…This was a unbelievable story!The Small Android device – 3.5 stars(?): The Lunar Chronicles take on The Small Mermaid story. This is the one I like but didn’t…On one hand, I wish to give it five stars because I enjoyed the twists that being zone rather than ocean provided. On the other hand, I wish to hold it around three stars because it think it was missing something, though I couldn’t specify what. It was a heartbreaking mething Old, Something Fresh – 5 stars!: This is the grand epilogue to The Lunar Chronicles. It picks up a few years (i believe) later after Cinder has dissolved Luna’s monarchy. The gang–Carswell, Cress, Cinder, Kai, Jacin, Winter, Iko, Scarlet, & Wolf–all meet up in France at Scarlet Benoit’s farm that she shares with Wolf (Ze’ev Kelsey)…and there is a wedding planned. Not who’s I thought it would be, though. Carswell and his snarkiness, Jacin and his heart, Wolf as is…Every moment was a pure pleasure to read. If this one kept dragging on for forever, I’d be okay with that. My only complaint is that everyone seems to have gotten a satisfying happily ever after, except Cress and Thorne.Overall, a attractive addition to the Lunar Chronicles. It adds more to the series as a whole, and definitely worth a read…after you complete the whole series, of course.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Revelations: Visions, Prophecy, and Politics in the Book of Revelation review []  2020-1-18 20:29

    The most mysterious, controversial and disturbing of all of the books of the Fresh Testament portion of the Christian Bible is the Book of Revelation. While most Christians are led to believe that all books of the Bible were compiled by some sort of divine mandate, the Book of Revelation was not an inevitable addition to the Canon. Elaine Pagels recounts what scholars know about the Book of Revelation in terms of its composition, how it was viewed by contemporaries and its eventual inclusion into the Fresh Testament. Pagels began her career studying and writing about the so-called Nag Hammadi Library, previously unknown and/or lost Christian texts which were discovered in the 1940's in Egypt which forever altered scholars' views of Early e Book of Revelation was written by a figure which has come down to us as John of Patmos. Much of Christian tradition has believed John of Patmos and John the Evangelist, writer of the Gospel According to John, are the same person. According to Pagels, not only is there widespread scholarly consensus that John of Patmos and John the Gospel writer are two various figures, this assertion was created during the earliest centuries of the church. Scholars have determined that the writing styles of John of Patmos and John the Gospel writer are distinctive enough in Greek to conclude that these people were separate writers whose literary goals were quite disparate, and these distinctions were recognized during Christianity's formative years. John the Evangelist was writing a mystical/spiritual acc of the life of Jesus, dissimilar from the synoptic gospels. By contrast, John of Patmos wrote a war-time revelation which as Pagels points out became a famous literary genre for a time, from about the late first century and into the third ls makes other assertions about the Book of Revelation which challenges Christian tradition. In addition to her assertion that John of Patmos is not John the Evangelist, Pagels also contends John of Patmos is not a Christian in our modern sense of the term. He is a Jew who is also a follower of Jesus, related to Franciscan monks being followers of St. Francis of Assisi while also being Christians. Christians and Jews were not quite separate groups yet; followers of Jesus of the First Century were largely Jews. What would become "Christianity" as a distinctive religion from Judaism probably doesn't occur until the 2nd century when Gentiles took the reigns of the leadership.Another surprising item which Pagels info is the Book of Revelation's controversy from very shortly after its composition, which Pagels dates circa 80-90 CE. While most Christians believe the Book of Revelation info future happenings which will occur in the far future, Pagels asserts that John of Patmos is describing very vividly conflicts during his own time. Today the word "Apocalypse" has come to mean "End Time" or "worldly destruction through divine intervention", but in fact, the term simply means an "unveiling" or a "revealing", hence "revelation". Over time, probably since no earlier than the inception of Protestantism, perhaps even more recent, the term "apocalypse" has the meaning used by people today as referring to a coming cataclysm.If the dating is correct, John of Patmos wrote very shortly after the Destruction of the Temple in Jerusalem during the Battles of the Jews and Romans, circa 66-70. The conflicts described by John of Patmos created the book very volatile during its own time. A lot of so-called Christian fathers condemned the book, stating it was heretical. There do exist some Christian denominations which do not accept John of Patmos' Revelation as a legitimately divine text and hence do not contain it in their Bible. Again, despite what is taught in Christian churches, the Book of Revelation did not have a clear path to cording to Pagels, from circa 100 to 300, John of Patmos' Revelation was not considered to be a divine text, but the opposite, a devil-inspired heretical text. Basic sources from the 2nd through the 3rd centuries CE survive in which early church fathers such as Origen, credited with being the first chronicler of the history of Christianity, condemned the book. The Book of Revelation's character (or villain depending upon your point of view) was Athanasius of Alexandria according to Pagels. Athanasius declared John of Patmos' Revelation was divinely inspired and sought hard for its inclusion in the shaping of what would become the 27 books of the Fresh Testament. In addition, Athanasius also condemned other books, such as the Gospel of Thomas, a copy of which was found among other lost Christian texts at Nag ls then shows how John of Patmos' Revelation was used throughout history. The Book of Revelation has become more than just a symbolic text but a metaphor for conflicting factions. Some of these factions have even believed they were experiencing the prophecies of John of Patmos. She uses examples from the Reformation, from the American Civil War, and even from the latest Iraq Battle in which the rhetoric of Revelation is used to prove one side is on the side of God and the other is on the side of evil. At the very end of the book, Pagels introduces some private views in which she cautions people in interpreting this text as a literal revelation of happenings in their own time. She argues it can be very risky for humanity to take a text written nearly 2000 years ago and test to apply it literally to our times to decide who is on the side of amazing and who is on the side of evil.A fascinating description, history and acc of perhaps the most fascinating book of the Fresh Testament. Pagels book reads like a novelistic documentary in which the history of the book and how it was both influenced by Judeo-Christian thought and later influenced Christian belief. While I would certainly never want to place into question anyone's religious beliefs, Pagel's book challenges a lot of assertions about how John of Patmos' text came about and how it became part of the Canon. I would hope Christians would search interest in this book as it info much of how and why Christian thought and belief was shaped.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Revelations: Visions, Prophecy, and Politics in the Book of Revelation review []  2020-1-18 20:29

    Very enlightening! In college, I took a semester course in the Book of Revelation, and this book reinforces much of what I remember learning. This book takes an academic approach, therefore, not a Sunday school lesson. My college professor, Dr. Charles Layman, often said that if you wish to understand the Bible, you must study the conditions and beliefs that existed at the time the of writing. Simply opening the Book of Revelation and start reading, without necessary background information, is confusing, indeed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Revelations: Visions, Prophecy, and Politics in the Book of Revelation review []  2020-1-18 20:29

    Elaine Pagels knowledge and writing is unbelievable and insightfulHowever I found Lorna Raver's rendition of the audio book so distracting as to create the book difficult to obtain is as if Ms. Raver sat in the studio and only read one line at a time, giving some stage-level dramatic interpretation to that line, independent of the context in the book. I frequently had rewind and listen again, to create sense of the text, outside what I found to be the misleading intonations Ms. Raver place into the an avid listener and user of audio books, I'd have to say:Author: 5 starsreader: perhaps she would unbelievable choice in dramatic novels, with other characters to play off of, but because of what was to my ear, a not good mis-match in reader style from the intent of the text,Even thought I am a huge fan of audio books,For this book, I'd suggest the reader purchase a paper or e-book copy and not the audio ever for Elaine Pagel's book "Beyond Belief..." the Audio book is wonderful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Revelations: Visions, Prophecy, and Politics in the Book of Revelation review []  2020-1-18 20:29

    I am part of a Bible study group that will be reading Revelation this fall. Our rector--the study group leader--recommended Professor Pagel's book to support us obtain ready to study this strange, strong work. Professor Pagel describes the historical context of Revelation, discusses the influence that other apocalyptic literature had on John's writings, and provides a very interesting discussion as to how this book was received by the Christian community in the early centuries of Christianity. The writing is lucid and elegant, and Professor Pagel's understanding of the times and extraordinary scholarship create this book essential reading. If you are looking for a scholarly, very well-written introduction to the Book of Revelation, look no further. This is it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Revelations: Visions, Prophecy, and Politics in the Book of Revelation review []  2020-1-18 20:29

    I've been reading Marcus Borg's "Evolution of the Word: The Fresh Testament in the Order the Books Were Written". When I got to the book of Revelation, I found it reads like an indecipherable disjointed fantasy of the Steven King genre. So I purchased Elaine Pagels' "Revelations: Visions, Prophecy and Politics......" to see if it would throw any light on the topic including why such a book was included in the biblical canon, and it did. Pagels does not test to provide a single interpretation for the vision, instead she provides a very readable description, supported by numerous scholarly publications, of the various ways that the book has been interpreted by clergy and politicians throughout its history. More importantly she explains their motivations for interpreting it the method they did and some of the resulting implications. After reading Pagels' book I have gained a reasonable understanding of the Book of Revelation's complex history and a broader perspective into the growth of the early church.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Revelations: Visions, Prophecy, and Politics in the Book of Revelation review []  2020-1-18 20:29

    Elaine Pagels is learned, interesting, and careful. Unfortunately, her work on the Book of Revelation has a number of flaws. First, it is not well-edited. Ms. Pagel repeats herself several times, including offering a nearly identical synopsis of the Book of the book in separate chapters. This is the sort of thing that careful editing should catch. And sometimes the footnootes do not have much to do with the tesxt they are supposed to annotate. For example, Pagels notes that Revelation barely created it into the Fresh Testament canon, while the footnote offers nothing about its inclusion -- where, when, and by how a lot of votes it happened to be incorporated into the canon? There were come church councils that voted on the Canon (Pagels mentions the Council of Carthage). What happened there? By what process was it decided to contain Revelation in the cond, this book is only loosely about the Book of Revelation itself. While the first two chapters are devoted to that Book, the remaining chapters contain only tangentially similar subjects, such as the wars in the early church and the conflicts between its bishops. These are interesting digressions, but they do not have much to do with Revelation. It is almost as if Ms. Pagels wrote six separate essays and justified their inclusion in one book by the fact that Revelation gets a mention in each of them. If her basic topic was Revelation itself, she would have been better off devoting her time to intepreting the book and noting the contemporary context of its writing. If her topic was the historical reaction and interpretation of that book, she should not have stopped at the fourth century. If I were to have one overarching criticism of her book, it is that it is a bit reover, the quality of her text varies considerably. Her chapter on other extant apocalyptic literature is really excellent. While the Book of Revelation has been called the satisfied hunting ground for cranks, a reading of Ms. Pagel's analysis of related writings makes it clear that John the Divine himself was not one of them. He was just a Jewish-Christian writer penning a particularly vivid example of a rather common literary genre. I would note, however, that her perfect exposition of precursors and contemporaries casts doubt on one of her conclusions -- that Revelation is largely to be interpreted as a cryptic reference to then-current events. Apocalyptic literature, Pagels' examples demonstrate, did have a huge prophetic component, and a considerable "end of days" component, and these are often neither closely similar to, nor cryptic references about, purely contemporary events. Moreover. the claim that John was writing in "code" because of fear of the authorities is suspect. What Roman magistrate bothered read this sort of stuff? Even Celsus, much less Pliny, demonstrated minimal familiarity which what are now the Fresh Testament books. And if John was writing about the failings of some of his Christian contemporaries, what was there for him to worry about if he called them out by name? John just liked to be cryptic, like a number of other apocalyptic writers, because that is the method they wrote. Nor should it be discounted that writing Revelations may have been fun. It probably gives a fair amount of pleasure to a partisan to see his opponents blown up and thrown into the outer darkness. And the sheer power and imaginativeness of the narrative suggests a certain playfulness. Revelation may not be the best book of the Bible, but it is almost surely the most me of Ms. Pagels' claims are rather tenuous. For example, she argues that John was a Jewish follower of Jesus who was was writing versus the "gentilizers" in the early church, particularly Paul and his followers. Pagels even suggests that John was not Christian, at least he did not call himself by the name "Christian." But John regularly mentions the church, and he nowhere mentions Paul. Nor does he have any direct criticism (or any obvious cryptic criticism) of gentile church members; much less does he suggest that gentile converts are not welcome in the church. Indeed, some of the churches in Asia Minor that he writes to had huge gentile congregations, and he surely knew this. And the dates proposed by Pagels for Revelation's writing are suspect. Pagels believes that the book was written circa 95 A.D., although she acknowledges that some scholars would put it 30 years earlier. But Tacitus wrote that Nero blamed "the Christians" for the amazing fire at Rome, so the name "Christian" was surely widely known and used at the time. For John not to use it in the 90's would seem strange. Perhaps Revelation is a composit, which might acc for the difference in tone between its first few chapters and the rest of the book and between the portions which seem to relate to current happenings and portions which relate to pure ly, Pagels does not spend nearly enough time on the text of Revelation itself. Although she contends that it relates principally to contemporary events, and analyzes the passages about the beast and the number of the beast and the destruction of God's opponents in some detail, she performs next to no exigesis of those passages which are more purely prophetic, such as Armageddon, the four horsemen (the third horseman being problematically denominated as "inflation" rather than the underlying famine which caused that inflation, which is what it primarily refers to), the Star Wormwood, the angel standing in the sun, the latest trumpet, etc. While she is amazing about Revelations' roots, she is less helpful as a tutorial to the branches. Revelation is a treasure-trove of haunting and strong images, which is probably why it is a satisfied hunting ground for cranks. If one is going to demystify it, it is very necessary to examine what the author was trying to mean rather than what the naked photo conveys whoever happens to be reading it. This requires a careful exposition of the text, and Pagels does not always provide is hard to criticize Pagels too much. It is generally a well-written book and a useful corrective for those who do not know much about Revelation. But for those who came to the book expecting to learn something fresh and revelatory about it, it is a bit problematical. Where it is really good, it does not have much to do with Revelation. And where it has a lot to say about Revelation, it is not particularly good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Revelations: Visions, Prophecy, and Politics in the Book of Revelation review []  2020-1-18 20:29

    Elaine Pagels presents a succinct overview of the origins of the book of Revelation, essentially taking the development of the book from a historical perspective. Tracing the origins of the belief in the authorship of John of Patmos, Pagels seeks to provide the historical context for the development of the seminal Fresh Testament work, perhaps the most popular of the books in the Fresh Testament and, most assuredly, the most prevalent work of apocalyptic literature this respect, Pagels views the development of this facet of the book via a further reliance upon the historical context of the books authorship. She takes passages from Revelation, meanwhile explaining the meaning of these passages when taking into acc the worldview of John of Patmos. Most assuredly, common belief concerning the horsemen of the apocalypse and the number and tag of the beast are explained in scholarly manners. Not willing to view this simply from a scholarly light, however, Pagels is fair in that she presents the modern interpretation of the l in all, this work is very well written in an informative, fair, and scholarly manner. It's a must read for those interested in the development of apocalyptic literature in Christianity and for those interested to know why exactly Revelation was chosen as canonical while a lot of other works were rejected.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Revelations: Visions, Prophecy, and Politics in the Book of Revelation review []  2020-1-18 20:29

    I found the review of history useful. I loved the envisioning of how codex I was used. I loved the presentation on Anthanasius, the most unChristian of men since paul. I believe professor pagels turned on the light so we can see this poor book in a proper light. Revelation is a novel like the late amazing planet earth and deserves the same fate. Prophecy must be fulfilled in order to be believed and we are still waiting. We are probably waiting for the return of Anthanasius' christ. Thank you for putting revelation out of the Canon and into the library under novels.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Revelations: Visions, Prophecy, and Politics in the Book of Revelation review []  2020-1-18 20:29

    Pagels informs how the book of Revelations was used as code for the belief that the "evil Roman empire" was the anti-Christ and would be destroyed by the fresh age of the Messiah. After Christianity became the state religion, the anti-Christ became Gnostics. Later the book was used to castigate Catholics. It is simple to extrapolate from there, how this book is still being used to forge social and political policy by demonizing groups that are sure to represent apostates who will bring about "the end times" and the casting of the demonized groups into eternal damnation. The book of Revelations has been and will always be a manipulative tool that the religious power brokers use to hold political and social power.I have read several of Pagel's books and have enjoyed each of them. My only criticism of the book, is that she keeps covering the same Church history over and over. I guess that is forgivable if this is the only book that someone reads.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Revelations: Visions, Prophecy, and Politics in the Book of Revelation review []  2020-1-18 20:29

    This was a hard book to rate, debating between four and three stars. Pagels has written a amazing explanation of what the book of revelation represents but as some reviewers have said does not go as deep as she could have. At the same time I am not sure she has explained in language plain enough for the layman to fully grasp her ideas. Her discussion of church history is well done and reminded me of how small we think of the context in which early Christianity developed. Anyone who has read the apostolic fathers can appreciate her research and e only sticking point for me was when she discusses the use of Revelations in the late 19th century and contains Jehovah Witnesses and Mormons in her list of e best part of Pagel's writing is her discussion of the "other" writings that have been mostly ignored by traditional Christianity. Her latest sentence speaks volumes to the fallacy of right wing fundamentalism--"and unlike those who insist that they have all the answers they'll ever need, these sources invite us to recognize our own truths, to search our own voice, and to seek revelation not only past, but ongoing. "As Einstein said, "question everything". Hopefully this book will spur readers to dig deeper into a book of scripture that has been misused, misunderstood, and misinterpreted by many.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chronicles review []  2020-1-22 3:16

    I love this magazine! It has some of the best writing in the world. Smart and thoughtful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chronicles review []  2020-1-22 3:16

    CHRONICLES, the basic print exponent of traditional ( old, or "paleo" ) conservatism, has continued to maintain high standards in its ongoing coverage of Western cultural and civilizational decline. Lead by its editor, Thomas Fleming, CHRONICLES features a special roster of writers, some connected with academia, others submitting essays as freelancers. Articles are ( for the most part ) well-written, informative and intelligently argued; one does not discern any evidence of pandering to the lowest common denominator or of engagement in the sort of infantile antics all too characteristic of such magazines as ( the sorely degraded ) NATIONAL REVIEW. Some private favorites in CHRONICLES: George McCartney's superb and detailed film reviews, Chilton Williamson Jr's "Hundredth Meridian" column ( vignettes from the rural western states ), Joe Sobran's witty and incisive thoughts on a plethora of (heavy and light) topics , Roger McGrath's "Sins of Omission" column ( un-PC history ), Philip Jenkin's well-argued cultural observations, Andrei Navrozov's insightful commentaries on the European scene, Srdja Trifkovic's "American Interest" column (meticulous political analyses) and, latest but not least, Thomas Fleming's frequently ferocious (but deeply learned) r those who aren't aware, conservatism was not always cognate with GOP/big business/world empire; CHRONICLES, along with THE AMERICAN CONSERVATIVE, have been scathingly critical of the Bush administration and its unconstrained ( delusional ) promotion of democracy via the "war on terror", both in Iraq and through different "spontaneous" ( i.e., artificially fomented ) manifestations of "freedom" around the world ( N.B., those on the Left should meditate on the fact that progressive forbears such as Woodrow Wilson fostered this national lurch into missionary ideology ). However, as well-covered as the political globe is in CHRONICLES, the magazine's special "voice" is perhaps best demonstrated through the fact that its focus is not unduly weighted towards that dreary and quotidian realm- indeed, it is the express purpose of this "magazine of American culture" to bring its analytical lenses to bear on cultural specifics, those stubborn particularities which ultimately trump ( as well as influence ) the political forms by which we are e sad and lamentable state of our culture as relayed by CHRONICLES does much to quell such halcyon notions as the idea of ( inevitable ) progress, the glowing future and ( non-divinized ) brotherhood of man. CHRONICLES is not, to understate the matter, a journal that exudes an abundance of sweetness and light; understandably so, since its main notice can be summarized as "the globe is going to hell in a hand basket". The relentless shouting from the rooftops tends at times to grate, and not just on those, by dint of antithetical worldviews, one would expect to react in such a fashion. In fact, this is the zone in which CHRONICLES merits a certain amount of criticism. Since the notion of "fallen mankind" has been around for thousands of years ( given its particularly relevant formulation by St Augustine in "The Town of God" ), it begs the question of what exactly the contributors hope to accomplish through their incessant Jeremiads; if it is to embrace the prophetic mantle ( implying a important rectitude and piety ) and convey the notice of repentance and belief in Christ, is this merely preaching to the choir of its established readership? If, on the other hand, CHRONICLES actually intends to reach out beyond a remnant, how effective can its aggressive and sometimes bitterly vituperative tone, be? Mind you, this is not to engage in the gainsay notion that conservatives are "intolerant"; for goodness' sake, how ( in true terms ) "tolerant" is THE NATION or NEW YORK REVIEW OF BOOKS? Ultimately, the point this reviewer ( a subscriber for some years ) is making is that, as sympathetic as I am with its *diagnosis*, the actual *prescription* CHRONICLES dispenses often wants for a modicum of Christian charity. In such moments of frustration one should perhaps veer away from this undoubtedly insightful source and take the higher road: read some choruses from T.S. Eliot's "The Rock", a passage from "Brothers Karamazov", above all- pray / quick / give alms. Some "projects" of which Thomas Fleming would no doubt approve.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chronicles review []  2020-1-22 3:16

    CHRONICLES is simply indispensable. The recent problem (May 2005), for example, deals with Israel and Palestine in the most thoughtful method I've encountered in any periodical. There is so much of value in each problem that it almost defies reading this magazine I discovered that Leon Trotsky was such a cheapskate that he refused to hint a waiter in Fresh York who told him, in effect: "Please sir, I am not paid by my employer at this job. Hints are my only source of income." Trotsky replied, impudently, to the waiter that he would not hint him because he was part of the capitalist system. This appeared several years ago, in a delilghtful reminiscence by a Hungarian emigre, of times spent long ago with a leftist (red diaper baby) girlfriend, entitled "Red Panties." Sad to say, but I don't think you'd have seen anything like it in NATIONAL REVIEW.A magazine that carries columns by writers like Thomas Fleming (its phenomenal editor), Paul Gottfried, Srdja Trifkovic, Andrei Navrozov, and Phil Jenkins, to name a few, is not something to be missed. I recommend two subscriptions, one for yourself and one for lending.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter