assessment literacy for educators in a hurry Reviews & Opinions


Submit assessment literacy for educators in a hurry review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment Essentials: Planning, Implementing, and Improving Assessment in Higher Education (Jossey-Bass Higher and Adult Education (Hardcover)) review []  2019-12-24 19:24

    Full of words and descriptions. Lack of diagram, chart, and true sample illustrations. Hard to read and follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment Essentials: Planning, Implementing, and Improving Assessment in Higher Education (Jossey-Bass Higher and Adult Education (Hardcover)) review []  2019-12-24 19:24

    Had to purchase this book for a Master’s level class, it definitely gets the job done...I just [email protected]#$%! had more diagrams and examples.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment Essentials: Planning, Implementing, and Improving Assessment in Higher Education (Jossey-Bass Higher and Adult Education (Hardcover)) review []  2019-12-24 19:24

    This was a needed textbook for my doctoral class in Education. I found it to be engaging and helpful for those who are wanting to understand Assessment in Higher Education.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on assessment literacy for educators in a hurry or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch assessment literacy for educators in a hurry video reviews and related movies:

    See Assessment Literacy on youtube.

     related image

    See Assessment Literacy: The Overlooked Ingredient in Educator Effectiveness on youtube.

     related image

    See 5-minute definitions for teachers in a hurry: WASHBACK on youtube.

     related image

    See Graduate Even Though You Didn't Pass TAKS on youtube.

     related image

    See Patient Teaching on youtube.

     related image

    See Learn to Write ASL! on youtube.

     related image

    See Helping you make smarter health care choices on youtube.

     related image

    See How to Teach the 87 Phonogram Sounds on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment Essentials: Planning, Implementing, and Improving Assessment in Higher Education (Jossey-Bass Higher and Adult Education (Hardcover)) review []  2019-12-24 19:24

    This text provides all the pertinent answers for anyone in academia hoping to understand assessment, either on the institutional or program level. Amazing book. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment Essentials: Planning, Implementing, and Improving Assessment in Higher Education (Jossey-Bass Higher and Adult Education (Hardcover)) review []  2019-12-24 19:24

    I appreciated that the authors examined assessment across multiple scales - from individual assignments or courses up to institutional effectiveness. I found lots of amazing ideas that I can incorporate into my department's assessment plan or into my own courses. I'm glad I got the hardcover. I'm sure I'll be referring to this book frequently for a lot of years.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment Essentials: Planning, Implementing, and Improving Assessment in Higher Education (Jossey-Bass Higher and Adult Education (Hardcover)) review []  2019-12-24 19:24

    Thanks!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment Essentials: Planning, Implementing, and Improving Assessment in Higher Education (Jossey-Bass Higher and Adult Education (Hardcover)) review []  2019-12-24 19:24

    amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment Essentials: Planning, Implementing, and Improving Assessment in Higher Education (Jossey-Bass Higher and Adult Education (Hardcover)) review []  2019-12-24 19:24

    Read the original. Love the update. Lives up to its title.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment Essentials: Planning, Implementing, and Improving Assessment in Higher Education (Jossey-Bass Higher and Adult Education (Hardcover)) review []  2019-12-24 19:24

    Well written text that offers clear examples of how schools are approaching the challenge of determining and ascertaining student learning.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment Essentials: Planning, Implementing, and Improving Assessment in Higher Education (Jossey-Bass Higher and Adult Education (Hardcover)) review []  2019-12-24 19:24

    Amazing Author

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment in Special Education: A Practical Approach (What's New in Special Education) review []  2019-12-19 18:38

    Amazing handbook for unique education program

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment in Special Education: A Practical Approach (What's New in Special Education) review []  2019-12-19 18:38

    Love this

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment in Special Education: A Practical Approach (What's New in Special Education) review []  2019-12-19 18:38

    This loose leaf ver is not what I envisioned. I pictured the pages looking like the inside of the book but it looks like someone just image copied the pages--and with low quality printing. The bold words are barely bold and the print is gray, not black. I'm very disappointed!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment in Special Education: A Practical Approach (What's New in Special Education) review []  2019-12-19 18:38

    The book is for a class, it is awesome!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment in Special Education: A Practical Approach (What's New in Special Education) review []  2019-12-19 18:38

    Perfect reference for my edu courses.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment in Special Education: A Practical Approach (What's New in Special Education) review []  2019-12-19 18:38

    The book was in amazing condition

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment in Special Education: A Practical Approach (What's New in Special Education) review []  2019-12-19 18:38

    In full disclosure, I have not approached the content of the book. This is based strictly on the fact that you are going to pay a highway robbery price for a little amount of content. The physical quality of the product itself is just awful. I was not aware that such poor, flimsy paper stock existed. It is clear they chop every possible corner in quality to squeeze every penny into their own private profit. It is a shame that textbook companies are just looking to create a buck, and that the amazing people who go into teaching have to waste their cash on content that could easily be created available for a fraction of the cost if the textbook company cared about supporting educators instead of just making a buck. Don't buy this product by choice, but if you are a teacher and need to buy it for a course, thank you for all your hard work in an honorable profession and my condolences on the cash you will spend that could have gone to much better use elsewhere.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment in Special Education: A Practical Approach (What's New in Special Education) review []  2019-12-19 18:38

    amazing product!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment in Special Education: A Practical Approach (What's New in Special Education) review []  2019-12-19 18:38

    A very straightforward text that offers practical guidance in the assessment process for unique education.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment in Special Education: A Practical Approach (What's New in Special Education) review []  2019-12-19 18:38

    Glad I found this textbook! Required for the course and received it two days later!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Understanding Assessment in the Special Education Process: A Step-by-Step Guide for Educators review []  2019-12-18 20:48

    It is good, but outdate for a copyright of 2015.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Understanding Assessment in the Special Education Process: A Step-by-Step Guide for Educators review []  2019-12-18 20:48

    Very amazing explanation of the huge picture. I liked this book as a resource.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Understanding Assessment in the Special Education Process: A Step-by-Step Guide for Educators review []  2019-12-18 20:48

    The book is thin and the chapters are short, but there are amazing nuggets of info packed within those pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Understanding Assessment in the Special Education Process: A Step-by-Step Guide for Educators review []  2019-12-18 20:48

    Amazing purchase. I was please and I love how it was available in an ebook format!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Understanding Assessment in the Special Education Process: A Step-by-Step Guide for Educators review []  2019-12-18 20:48

    Some useful info here- but fairly limited in scope. I would prefer a longer book with more info about the Unique Education Process. Instead, the author has broken up the info into a series of books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Understanding Assessment in the Special Education Process: A Step-by-Step Guide for Educators review []  2019-12-18 20:48

    the book arrived quickly allowing me to start reading prior to the beginning of my class

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Understanding Assessment in the Special Education Process: A Step-by-Step Guide for Educators review []  2019-12-18 20:48

    I did not buy this book by choice but by necessity. I was not impressed but it could have been worse. For example, I could have not used it at all, meaning I wasted cash I can't afford to be wasting. At least I used this book and I'll probably refer to it again - if not, I'll sell it and probably obtain five bucks. Wow.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Understanding Assessment in the Special Education Process: A Step-by-Step Guide for Educators review []  2019-12-18 20:48

    This book is a fast read, but full of amazing information. I had to buy it for a graduate class and it is one of the few books I've had to buy that 1) did not damage my wallet and 2) was fun to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment for Learning: Putting It into Practice (UK Higher Education OUP Humanities & Social Sciences Education OUP) review []  2019-12-23 19:32

    I used this book to lead a teacher action research group in my school district. It was a unbelievable balance of the principles of assessment for learning coupled with classroom vignettes demonstrating AfL in action. The teachers I worked with were inspired to develop perfect applications for their own classrooms that had a major impact on student learning.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment for Learning: Putting It into Practice (UK Higher Education OUP Humanities & Social Sciences Education OUP) review []  2019-12-23 19:32

    This teaches you how to create people learn, not how to teach! I am a doctor, this is about Basic School teaching - best book I have ever read for learning to support students and doctors to learn! Go on, break out of your silo you doctors! Brilliant items - read it on one night and change your teaching forever

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AEPA Early Childhood Education Practice Questions (Second Set): AEPA Practice Tests & Review for the Arizona Educator Proficiency Assessments review []  2020-3-29 18:35

    I purchased this immediately after signing up for the AEPA Early Childhood-Subject Knowledge exam, and I began studying using this practice try right away. I did the practice try three times during the week leading up to my exam date. When I went to take the exam, I thought I would be very well prepared, knowing that my scores had improved each time I took the practice test. However, upon taking the exam, I discovered that this practice try is NOTHING like the actual exam.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AEPA Early Childhood Education Practice Questions (Second Set): AEPA Practice Tests & Review for the Arizona Educator Proficiency Assessments review []  2020-3-29 18:35

    Questions doesn't pretend to any questions on the test.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GACE Special Education General and Adapted Curriculum (081, 082, 581, 083, 084, 583) Study Guide: Georgia Assessments for the Certification of Educators Exam Prep and Practice Test Questions review []  2019-12-18 20:34

    This book was awesome. I love that it had practice questions throughout each section! I passed the try with flying colors. I plan to order this brand book for my sister too!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GACE Special Education General and Adapted Curriculum (081, 082, 581, 083, 084, 583) Study Guide: Georgia Assessments for the Certification of Educators Exam Prep and Practice Test Questions review []  2019-12-18 20:34

    I moved from another state and had to take this test. Got a 291 on the test! This book will prepare you just fine!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GACE Special Education General and Adapted Curriculum (081, 082, 581, 083, 084, 583) Study Guide: Georgia Assessments for the Certification of Educators Exam Prep and Practice Test Questions review []  2019-12-18 20:34

    I would give this book a rating of 5. I like how the book is sectioned out and how sample questions are provided during and at the end of each section. The explanations for the correct respond are version informative to see where misunderstandings are.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GACE Special Education General and Adapted Curriculum (081, 082, 581, 083, 084, 583) Study Guide: Georgia Assessments for the Certification of Educators Exam Prep and Practice Test Questions review []  2019-12-18 20:34

    Then this is the book for you! It reviews the necessary concepts and includes tactics from experienced teachers - which will be useful when you actually start teaching. The book itself includes nearly 350 pages, and contains review questions scattered throughout the book, with a full length practice try at the end. You also have access to an online try which you should take as well, as the actual try is done on computer. You also have access to a free Essential Try Hints video, info on how to obtain that is on the first page of the reviews Student Growth and Development, Disability Categories, Planning and Learning Environments, Assessment, and Professional Responsibilities. There are review questions throughout the book, which I search useful as it re-enforces necessary information. Best of all, the practice try in the book lists not just the correct answer, but why that respond is correct - and why the other answers are not correct. This makes the review much easier as you don't have to find through the book as to why the respond you thought was correct isn't...I received a copy of this book for free, this is my voluntary review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GACE Special Education General and Adapted Curriculum (081, 082, 581, 083, 084, 583) Study Guide: Georgia Assessments for the Certification of Educators Exam Prep and Practice Test Questions review []  2019-12-18 20:34

    Free video offer on inside cover. That plus the online resources makes this an perfect study guide. The study tutorial provides info from student growth and development to professional responsibilities. With a practice try with over 100 questions. I found this tutorial useful. I recommend buying if you are planning to take GACE Unique Education test.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GACE Special Education General and Adapted Curriculum (081, 082, 581, 083, 084, 583) Study Guide: Georgia Assessments for the Certification of Educators Exam Prep and Practice Test Questions review []  2019-12-18 20:34

    It is very informative. Appropriate for someone wanting to learn about unique needs students.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GACE Special Education General and Adapted Curriculum (081, 082, 581, 083, 084, 583) Study Guide: Georgia Assessments for the Certification of Educators Exam Prep and Practice Test Questions review []  2019-12-18 20:34

    Extremely helpful. Simple to follow, comprehend and retain.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Educational Assessment of Students review []  2019-12-18 20:34

    This is the definitive book on educational assessments. In this era of testing students, educators should know everything they can about assessments- including how they are designed, constructed, scored and how the results can be used. This is the book to use to gain expertise in assessment is content contains reliability, validity, etc. but, most valuable is instruction on building a amazing assessment question that is more than a question you would search on a android game show. A question that actually can be used to measure student achievement and tutorial instruction to improve student learning.I am using this book as the resource for designing professional development for secondary teachers. It is strong to have Brookhart and Nitko as my authorities in this endeavor. It's amazing to have the experts to rely on when there is pushback. The book is organized to transfer to a syllabus and learning itially I thought this would be a workbook - but it is the textbook in a three ring binder which is very handy for inserting my pages of notes within the sections of the book so it's all in one place. The e text is convenient so I don't have to carry the binder from home to office.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Educational Assessment of Students review []  2019-12-18 20:34

    Amazing content. The loose-leaf format makes reading more difficult. Why is there no bound version?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Educational Assessment of Students review []  2019-12-18 20:34

    For teacher daughter. Can't comment

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Educational Assessment of Students review []  2019-12-18 20:34

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Educational Assessment of Students review []  2019-12-18 20:34

    Very boring

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Educational Assessment of Students review []  2019-12-18 20:34

    The book was damaged.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Educational Assessment of Students review []  2019-12-18 20:34

    Perfect source for academic assessments

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Educational Assessment of Students review []  2019-12-18 20:34

    Amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Educational Assessment of Students review []  2019-12-18 20:34

    Book is written in the stance of pro standardized testing. The book is produced by Pearson which has a Financial steak in standardized testing at the state level. The book is not appropriate for a college teacher preparation course. It marginalizes formative of assessment and to glorify summative assessment at the state level. The book does not give a tutorial for the use of assessments but rather the looks of the analytics of summative assessments primarily.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Educational Assessment of Students review []  2019-12-18 20:34

    It is helpful to understand about assessments.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment in Special and Inclusive Education review []  2019-12-18 20:24

    After waiting nearly 2 weeks to keep my book, it finally arrived in the mail. At first I was happy to finally have it, but that feeling quickly passed the moment i opened the pack to look at the book. I understand that the function of the book is in no method impeded but considering the fact that this book was purchased fresh and at a price point of nearly 85 dollars I am extremely dissatisfied.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment in Special and Inclusive Education review []  2019-12-18 20:24

    For professional reading, it's not too bad. Quality was amazing and the pages were thick enough to highlight well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment in Special and Inclusive Education review []  2019-12-18 20:24

    Exactly as I expected. Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment in Special and Inclusive Education review []  2019-12-18 20:24

    Amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment in Special and Inclusive Education review []  2019-12-18 20:24

    Not worth the price. All of the info was found in other books that cost a lot less and were better written.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment in Special and Inclusive Education review []  2019-12-18 20:24

    Simple to read and understand. Very helpful for my grad class.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment in Special and Inclusive Education review []  2019-12-18 20:24

    Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Assessment in Special and Inclusive Education review []  2019-12-18 20:24

    This book is a quick read with dozens of information. Yes, you can search this info in others books, but the convenience of having it in one book is excellent. Highly recommend it for all teachers whether first year or thirty years. This is not just a book for unique education; it is a book for all levels and subjects. Assessment is part of education; this book will create you more prepared, plus give you confidence in assessing your students. Needs to be in every teacher and school library!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Classroom Assessment for Students in Special and General Education review []  2019-12-18 20:34

    This is a very helpful text for developing your own curriculum based measurements to assess progress in reading, writing, and math. This book will tutorial you through how to make different assessments. It also shows you how to give a leveled ranking to reading passages. It provides suggestions on approximate mastery levels a teacher should expect at different stages of development. If you need to assess your students this is an perfect tutorial for how to make your own assessments. The steps are easy! Anyone can do this. The benefit, is that you can use the materials in your class to make the assessments. There are also suggestions of things to assess that I personally would never have thought to assess. These tactics will come in handy for showing parents the progress that their students have created throughout the year.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Classroom Assessment for Students in Special and General Education review []  2019-12-18 20:34

    Buy the international edition and save 100.00 at least.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Classroom Assessment for Students in Special and General Education review []  2019-12-18 20:34

    Cover was torn upon arrival. rest of book looks well used but fine.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Classroom Assessment for Students in Special and General Education review []  2019-12-18 20:34

    I was a bit skeptical because the price for this fresh "international" edition was so much cheaper than all of the other offers on amazon so I ordered it with plenty of time to obtain the correct one at the school bookstore. Turns out there was no need. I am in the 3rd week of the class and this is indeed the correct book. The only thing that seems off is the pictures. If they are pictures of people they have the appearance of being photocopied. I am not saying they are, they just look...off. Regardless, I don't need the pictures, just the content and I was satisfied to save nearly $100 on a fresh book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Classroom Assessment for Students in Special and General Education review []  2019-12-18 20:34

    We used the first four chapters the most. Rest were just for reference. I bought Kindle edition to save money. It was a amazing decision.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Classroom Assessment for Students in Special and General Education review []  2019-12-18 20:34

    I was assigned this text for a class about differentiated instruction and assessment and I've found it very informative. The author looks at a lot of types of assessment used in schools and provides reasoning behind their use with students. Examples of amazing assessments are provided. I can see this book being pulled out in the future to support me construct assessments for my students.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Classroom Assessment for Students in Special and General Education review []  2019-12-18 20:34

    This text has a lot of information, but can be skimmed through to search specific information. I will use this text in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Classroom Assessment for Students in Special and General Education review []  2019-12-18 20:34

    The book was sent on time and in fresh condition. This book is beautiful simple to read. I am reading it for a graduate course. The book is very informative on current educational laws and compliance. It contains a lot of charts, tables, and resources to support implement different parts of unique education laws. This book includes a lot of assessment info including types of assessments, and content and topic specific information.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Classroom Assessment for Students in Special and General Education review []  2019-12-18 20:34

    Bought of a class. Nicely arranged chapters. Gave usable examples for classroom implementation. Amazing for general use even if not for a class.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Classroom Assessment for Students in Special and General Education review []  2019-12-18 20:34

    I really liked the examples of assessments in this book. For my class we had to make several of our own short assessments and this book had all of the examples I needed. The assessments are short and primary for any teacher to use. Highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Special Education and School Nurses: From Assessments to Ieps review []  2019-12-18 20:51

    This is written by 2 veteran school nurses who not only have written thousands of health IEP's, but have taught a lot of school nurses to write health IEP's. An perfect resource.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Special Education and School Nurses: From Assessments to Ieps review []  2019-12-18 20:51

    This book is loaded with practical and important information. The two authors are highly knowledgeable . They wrote a very readable tutorial to help school nurses to deliver the best professional services in assessing and planning for students with unique needs.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Special Education and School Nurses: From Assessments to Ieps review []  2019-12-18 20:51

    This is a terrific book and full of perfect info and resources. BHJ

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Nurse Educator's Guide to Assessing Learning Outcomes review []  2020-1-16 16:33

    Most of the concepts in this book you could probably research and search online.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Nurse Educator's Guide to Assessing Learning Outcomes review []  2020-1-16 16:33

    The book was brand fresh and arrived in very promptly with no issues. Drama free ordering!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Nurse Educator's Guide to Assessing Learning Outcomes review []  2020-1-16 16:33

    Simple to read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Legal Studies Capstone: Assessing Your Undergraduate Education review []  2020-1-17 21:28

    The content was too vague.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Legal Studies Capstone: Assessing Your Undergraduate Education review []  2020-1-17 21:28

    Seller shipped quick as promised, I bought the book, brand new, will use again :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Legal Studies Capstone: Assessing Your Undergraduate Education review []  2020-1-17 21:28

    School book, amazing for brushing up on things if it's been a while since you have had specific courses.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nursing Assessment: Head-to-Toe Assessment in Pictures (Health Assessment in Nursing) review []  2020-1-23 2:2

    Nursing students is book is not what you want, believe me. A bunch of us that are in the nursing program bought this book, and if you are wanting to see a skin color.... you are not going to wish a black and white book, that looks like it was photocopied. Don't waste your time folks. We all sent ours back.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nursing Assessment: Head-to-Toe Assessment in Pictures (Health Assessment in Nursing) review []  2020-1-23 2:2

    The book is fair at best, although there are some amazing pictures, all are black and white. There are several pages in the back of the book that COULD be very useful such as an assessment sheet and handoff report, but the only thing you can read on these pages is the title, The ret is so blurry you cannot read it. I have the print ver of the book so the Kindle ver could be better, but I was disappointed in the quality of the picture and the fact that some of the print is unreadable making these pages useless to me. If you are planning to buy it, I would definitely obtain the Kindle version.....the paper ver is not worth the money.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nursing Assessment: Head-to-Toe Assessment in Pictures (Health Assessment in Nursing) review []  2020-1-23 2:2

    I bought the kindle ver and use it on my ipad. Unlike other reviewers I found all the pictures in full color and I could also zoom in. When I tapped on a word that was unfamiliar the wikipedia and dictionary both opened with definitions. I think you have to download the dictionary from Google, not sure how I got it. The wikipedia had even better definitions and I don't remember downloading it but it sure is useful. There are no additional or unnecessary words so this is concise, yet I can obtain more info from the wiki on an as required basis. Great!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nursing Assessment: Head-to-Toe Assessment in Pictures (Health Assessment in Nursing) review []  2020-1-23 2:2

    I gave it two stars because the info in it will be helpful; however, the fact that it is Black and White does not support AT ALL. Cyanosis can't be seen and neither can jaundice in black and white, among several other pictures. I realize that they were trying to save us a few bucks, but I would rather have spent some more cash and gotten something that I could really use than something that shouldn't have pictures at all if it is going to be black and white.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nursing Assessment: Head-to-Toe Assessment in Pictures (Health Assessment in Nursing) review []  2020-1-23 2:2

    Amazing content, but I did not realize the print book isn’t in color. As a result, a lot of of the photographs are not very useful. I didn’t order the Kindle ver because I prefer print books, but I would assume that ver is in color if you need the photos. This is still a amazing resource, like the rest of the NRSNG products.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nursing Assessment: Head-to-Toe Assessment in Pictures (Health Assessment in Nursing) review []  2020-1-23 2:2

    So much necessary information! Please use this book, it is unbelievable and gives you up to date nursing assessment head to toe scientific information. I required this, because I returned to nursing after being away from it for a few years. My daughter has autism, so I did not work for several years. This book helped me obtain back to work. It helped me remember how to do an assessment, just like I was right out of school.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nursing Assessment: Head-to-Toe Assessment in Pictures (Health Assessment in Nursing) review []  2020-1-23 2:2

    Amazing refresher! BUT Black and white pictures to present abnormal finding just doesn’t work. It’s hard to see discolorations

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nursing Assessment: Head-to-Toe Assessment in Pictures (Health Assessment in Nursing) review []  2020-1-23 2:2

    I didn’t search this useful. There a few pictures with little paragraphs of description on how to do the assessment. I’m more interested how to interpret findings/ significance of abnormal findings.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nursing Assessment: Head-to-Toe Assessment in Pictures (Health Assessment in Nursing) review []  2020-1-23 2:2

    This would have been a amazing book if the pictures were in color. Don’t waste your money...you can google and create your own book that would be easier to follow!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nursing Assessment: Head-to-Toe Assessment in Pictures (Health Assessment in Nursing) review []  2020-1-23 2:2

    Black and white!! I was so shocked when I opened it, and I want I would have read the reviews before I bought it! What a waste of money! I’m going to send it back!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Understanding Reading Problems: Assessment and Instruction (What's New in Literacy) review []  2020-1-28 19:21

    Why is the description paperback when you obtain a small packet with a code on the inside? ... It's an e-book that you have access to for a limited time. Please change the description of this paperback. I'm sure I'm not the only one who expected a paperback book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Understanding Reading Problems: Assessment and Instruction (What's New in Literacy) review []  2020-1-28 19:21

    When you go to Pearson's www service to register you etext access code they give you a list of textbooks to select your book from. Understanding Reading Issues is not an option! I spent 45 mins on the phone with Pearson and ended up having to buy the book in another format. BUYER BEWARE!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Understanding Reading Problems: Assessment and Instruction (What's New in Literacy) review []  2020-1-28 19:21

    Amazing book! Very helpful!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Using Feedback to Improve Learning (Student Assessment for Educators) review []  2020-1-30 18:51

    Book was perfect.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Literacy for Young Children: A Guide for Early Childhood Educators (NULL) review []  2019-12-24 19:17

    Just an ok book nothing special

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Literacy for Young Children: A Guide for Early Childhood Educators (NULL) review []  2019-12-24 19:17

    good

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Achieving your Assessment and Quality Assurance Units (TAQA) (Further Education and Skills) review []  2020-1-19 18:44

    This is just the book you need if your taking the NVQ TAQA, well worth the money. It gives you all the knowledge you need when teaching and assessing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Achieving your Assessment and Quality Assurance Units (TAQA) (Further Education and Skills) review []  2020-1-19 18:44

    Very helpful for Assessor award

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    I-M-ABLE: Individualized Meaning-Centered Approach to Braille Literacy Education review []  2020-2-4 20:23

    Excited to see fresh results with my students.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    I-M-ABLE: Individualized Meaning-Centered Approach to Braille Literacy Education review []  2020-2-4 20:23

    Bought for school

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Literacy with an Attitude, Second Edition: Educating Working-Class Children in Their Own Self-Interest review []  2020-1-8 19:46

    Testocracy meritocracy is aristocracy?Patrick Finn has a plan to improve not good public schools and his book Literacy with an Attitude spells it environments make a self sustaining social hierarchy. Upward mobility is mostly fantasy.Poor schools educate to domesticate for minimum wage work. Obedience is emphasized and the students resent it. They know the subjects taught don't support them. Only low level literacy is covered. Factory labor is a high goal.Middle class schools educate for college competence. Students are bored by busywork, but recognize conformity can pay off with a safe job. White collar work and middle level management are high goals. Controversy is avoided because parents might fluent schools empower for leadership. Creative writing and critical thinking are developed. High literacy is promoted for high ownership. Current happening controversies are discussed to sharpen debate skills. Student ideas are mestication education vs empowerment.What's the Finn plan? His book tells all, but here's a clue:Why not empower everybody? Talk to children about subjects that can improve their lives, and they will become stead of amnestic dates, history can be presented with themes and questions. Who makes the decisions? Who's left out? Who benefits? Who suffers? How can I obtain into the winners circle?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Literacy with an Attitude, Second Edition: Educating Working-Class Children in Their Own Self-Interest review []  2020-1-8 19:46

    I use this book in an English Education course that I teach, and it is an especially strong method for students to understand how principles of social justice can be enacted through literacy and language nn—an articulate and unapologetic advocate of liberal politics and economic, social, and educational equity—supports his arguments and analyses with abundant scholarship as well as his own private experiences as an educator. He clearly shows how domesticating education perpetuates social, economic, and political hegemony, and he explains how an understanding of Paolo Freire’s theories of progressive pedagogy must inform any kind of movement to improve the US system of vocative and incendiary in the best possible way, Finn’s book should be needed reading for ALL future teachers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Literacy with an Attitude, Second Edition: Educating Working-Class Children in Their Own Self-Interest review []  2020-1-8 19:46

    This professional book was an perfect read. Used it in my graduate work and the concepts reviewed by the author were mind-blowing. A must read for all educators.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Literacy with an Attitude, Second Edition: Educating Working-Class Children in Their Own Self-Interest review []  2020-1-8 19:46

    In his polemical book Literacy with an Attitude, Patrick J. Finn is extremely critical of social change through accommodation. Accommodation is ineffective because it delays, and sometimes prevents, the social reforms that people need and deserve, he argues. The educational system is full of well-intentioned people who help the status quo, preventing required reforms, because they do not engage in political acts that would be seen as nn is critical of trying to change society by simply changing the hearts and minds of those who control the power and the money. Finn goes further and stresses that those who are affected by injustice must be empowered. This empowerment is not merely a transfer of power, but is the creation and acquisition of power by the nn draws on the research and work of a lot of progressive educators and activists. Several of the people who I found particularly impressive are:* John Ogbu, a Nigerian-American anthropologist and professor who distinguished between immigrant minorities and involuntary minorities. Involuntary minorities develop "oppositional identities" that prevent them from adopting behaviors they associate with the dominant culture that discriminates versus them.* Paulo Freire, a Brazilian educator who developed effective tactics for teaching literacy to not good adults. He used "culture circles" to make supportive networks that encouraged the students to build on what they already knew and to think critically. Freire's use of dialogue in teaching was both respectful and empowering.* Robert Peterson, a "social justice educator and disciple of Freire." Teachers who wish to teach working class students in anything but an authoritarian method must "be prepared for an enormous struggle," he says.* William Bigelow and Linda Christensen, high school teachers in Oregon, who say that "dialogue is something other than conversation in the classroom." They teach that a deeper ver of history requires students to think about the problems underlying a lot of familiar r example, the story of Rosa Parks is various and more strong when we know that "she had been ejected from buses before for refusing to give up her seat, but never before arrested." She was not a passive actor who Fate selected. She was the secretary of the local NAACP. She was part of a group that had been discussing how to war discrimination for some time, which group was ready to organize meetings and boycotts when Parks was arrested. I was not taught these info as a student. As Finn and a lot of of the other writers he quotes point out: when we know the true histories of how social reforms have been brought about in the past, we infer that future reforms will also require disruption of the status quo.I don't like a lot of what Finn says in LWAT. It makes me uncomfortable. However, I search a lot of of his arguments persuasive, even though they create me uncomfortable. There's a part of me that wishes meritocracy really worked. However, based on my own experiences, and supported by Finn and the research in his book, I am persuaded that as a high school teacher of working class students, I will need to develop extra skills and viewpoints in order to support a lot of of the students not only to become literate but also to make knowledge, to "create products and art," and to acquire power-not through the benevolence, generosity, or condescension of those who already have it, but through negotiation and agitation, through civil and social reforms brought about by the activism of students, families, teachers, and rlin Mann wrote that the tip we wish isn't always the tip we need. "The best tip you'll obtain in life hurts like hell at the time. Because it has to." Reassuring ourselves with comfortable tip that doesn't challenge our own status quo "will actively obtain in the method of fundamental improvement by obscuring the tip we need with the tip that we enjoy. And, the tip that's simple to take is so rarely the tip that could really create a difference."I am also reminded of what Franz Kafka wrote about books that create us uncomfortable: If the book we are reading does not wake us, as with a fist hammering on our skull, why then do we read it? So that it shall create us happy? Amazing God, we would also be satisfied if we had no books, and such books as create us satisfied we could, if need be, write ourselves.... But what we must have are those books which come upon us like ill fortune, and distress us deeply, like the death of one we love better than ourselves, like suicide. A book must be an ice-axe to break the sea frozen inside us.I have come away from Literacy with an Attitude feeling both challenged and criticized. It is a strong book. It is also an annoying book, an exciting book, and a tiring book. Finn effectively portrays the ineffective ways that working class students are taught in make-believe schools, performing mechanical academic work that prepares them for mechanical work e most necessary of my responses to LWAT, however, is the excitement I feel in confronting new ideas about how to be a successful high school teacher. I look forward to incorporating the ideas and approaches to lesson development of Finn and the other teachers he writes about.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter